Ben Goren's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ben’s full profile.

Overview

  • 73 references 70 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, English; learning French, Japanese, Taiwanese
  • 47, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Business Director
  • Political Science, Lecturing
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To live, learn, love.

ABOUT ME

Ben is a Vice-General Manager at a firm in Taiwan that supplies dental equipment for oral surgery. He is also a freelance writer / essayist.

I like to find and explore places with history and wider social meaning rather than places that are too commercial or touristy. I'd prefer not to stay in the concrete jungle all the time. That's also the type of tourist suggestions I'll give too when you visit this beautiful country of Taiwan.

One cat Korra moved into my house in May 2021 and now owns me, we welcome cat-friendly guests.

I have one spare room with one double bed.

I live in a suburb north of central Taipei City, about 30 minutes from Taipei Main Station by MRT, and my house is about 10 minutes by taxi from the nearest MRT station.

LGBT+ safe and welcome rest space: I celebrate Taiwan as the first country in Asia to announce constitutionally binding right to same-sex marriage on May the 24th 2015 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/world-asia-25172783/taiwan-same-sex-marriage-protests).

House Rules:

- Guests need to be cat-friendly (e.g not scared or allergic)
- We do not 'hang out' or meet up with couchsurfing requestees who we cannot host. Sorry.
- Our house is not in the centre of Taipei City so late night activities need to be planned with the fact that we are at least 40 minutes from Taipei Main Station and won't stay up to open the door past 11pm.
- *LE SIGH* We are not a Bed and Breakfast. Our food/drink is not communal and guests should not assume it is and help themselves.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I provide a place to stay for people who visit Taiwan and Taipei (Shilin) and want to explore North Taiwan and like to chat and share experiences, perhaps even do some activities together or eat out. Hopefully I will be able visit our couchsurfing friends when I travel abroad.

Note: I am not a hostel and do not host people who are just looking for somewhere to crash after leaving the club at 3am. I'm also not a temporary housing service for those relocating within Taiwan.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Note: Whilst I choose to have guests and be on couchsurfing, sadly my cat was unable to participate in the democratic vote to host guests (they abstained). A compromise was reached and we I am now required to state that people requesting to stay should include the phrase "Cats are queen of the house, always respectfully ask her majesty's permission to approach miao" in their host request message. Korra thanks you in advance for your co-operation.

Interests

SJ issues, blogging, reading, history, Football (Everton), Cricket (England), hiking, cooking, music, gardening, environmental protection, biking (pedal, motored), interior design, aviation (former trainee pilot).

  • writing
  • interior design
  • environment
  • aviation
  • politics
  • reading
  • hiking
  • football
  • twitter
  • political economy

Music, Movies, and Books

Ghibli and Pixar films. Lots of TV series from around the world. I especially like Sci-fy and historical dramas, as well as political / social documentaries about other countries.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Horse jumping competitor (a long long long time ago LOL), party organiser, online radio show producer and host, interviewed a former President in jail, learned to fly (briefly - it's a long story). You can see more on my personal website bgoren.com

Teach, Learn, Share

Cooks European dishes like roast chicken, macaroni cheese, pizza, chicken pie, quiche, shepherds pie, spaghetti bolognese, also humous, falafel, salads with french dressing. My tuna-fish rice is quick, easy, and extremely tasty.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My music and film collection and our stories and an in depth introduction to the history, politics, and culture of Taiwan and the UK.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, China, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Japan, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Netherlands, Palestine, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Palestine, Taiwan, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Ben’s full profile.

My Groups