Yuval Orr

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 12 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Yuval’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Arabic, English, Hebrew (modern); learning Arabic (Egypt), Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • A student of the world, currently living and studying in ...
  • B.A. in Modern Middle Eastern Studies though my interests...
  • From Highland Park
  • Profile 50% complete

About Me


To study hip-hop culture and its permutations the world over


I am a 27 year-old first generation American living/studying in Cairo, Egypt. I've spent a number of years traveling, living and studying in the Middle East, tracing my family's roots and uncovering pieces of my own identity. I love learning new languages and surprising people when I can hold a conversation with them in their native tongue. I'm fascinated by hip-hop culture, spoken word, film, and most other art forms though I can't handle museums. I like to experience new places with people who live there rather than through a guidebook and I'm always up for an adventure.


"A wise man knows himself a fool." I think that one's attributed to Shakespeare, but it's a fairly accurate accounting of my philosophy. There is always more to learn and always more to experience. I often find that I've learned the most from those who believe they have nothing to teach. Always respect the low man on the totem pole and they'll have your back when push comes to shove.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I'm a fresh CS user, but I hope to host people in the future and show them the finer (and off-the-map) points of whatever city I'm living in, be it Philadelphia or Cairo. I also hope to meet people from around the world through CS.


I love studying languages and learning about different cultures through their words in literature, film and especially music. I'm currently studying Arabic on a fellowship program in Cairo.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've been caught in a sandstorm in the Sahara during a camel trek. With nothing but sand in every direction and sand swirling above my head I had a terrifying half hour within which to contemplate my life and emerged with a fresh appreciation for it. I'd definitely recommend a Saharan sandstorm to anyone tired of blase eco-tourism.

Teach, Learn, Share

Two of my greatest assets are my writing and my ability freestyle (in English, but I'm working on incorporating Hebrew). I'd love to share freestyle technique, or even slam poetry, with someone curious to learn or even someone just seeking to be entertained for a while.

Countries I’ve Visited

Brazil, Jordan, Mexico

Countries I’ve Lived In

Egypt, Morocco, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Yuval’s full profile. It’s free!