Logo orange

Yvonne Cariveau

Mankato, Minnesota, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Yvonne's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 0 References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Sign Language - American, Spanish
  • 53, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Small business owner
  • PhD in Marketing and Psychology
  • From St. Cloud, Minnesota USA
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To spend a year or two and live/work as we travel around the world.

ABOUT ME

I am outgoing, love to dance, listen to music, hear stories and jokes. My husband, Derek, is terrific person - he's funny, sings really well and loves to travel with me. We laugh often and disagree rarely. We both enjoy wine and beer tasting, biking, hiking, trying new food, learning languages and meeting new people. I can't remember a joke to save my life, but thank goodness Derek can! And he does great voices (TV and movie characters) - so I'm always entertained.

PHILOSOPHY

Happiness is about gratitude - being grateful for all the terrific things in your life and not letting the things that aren't great dominate your thoughts. Great relationships happen when both parties have as their main goal to find ways to make the other person happy.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We are interested in meeting new friends from other places - either just online or if you are in our area. We have a guest room with it's own bath that is often available and we love showing people how great southern Minnesota is! We also love to travel and hope to see the world in the next few years.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We haven't couch surfed through this site, but we love to travel and have visited Mexico, Scotland, Amsterdam, France and Italy. We have stayed in hotels and with friends and we always prefer staying with a friend. We are pretty easy-going and see most things as another "adventure". We recently hosted someone from another country for a while in our home. We loved the experience and enjoyed showing our area and learning about his home through pictures and his stories.

Interests

Biking on the beautiful trails around us in southern Minnesota is one of my favorite things to do. I love to bike with my husband and friends, talking as we go and stopping for picnics. I enjoy music, art and architecture. I love to visit old churches, art museums, outdoor sculptures and funky coffee houses.

Music, Movies & Books

Science fiction, comedy and comic book movies (Iron Man, Batman, Spiderman) are our favorites - but we enjoy a good British drama from time to time also. We both love music. Derek's music is usually Elton John, Billy Joel, Eric Clapton, Indigo Girls and a band called Dan Reed Network from Portland, OR. I like 70s funk and disco (I know lame, but I do!), blues (Eric Bibb is my current favorite) and I enjoy bands like Smash Mouth and Nickelback - so kinda eclectic. We both read science fiction, fantasy (Tolkien, Asimov, etc) and non-fiction like Thomas Friedman and biographies of famous people.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Standing on the edge of the Grand Canyon..the size and beauty were beyond anything I had imagined. Snorkeling in Cozumel for the first time, at chankanab park. The colors and amazing fish blew me away!

Teach, Learn, Share

Yvonne: Starting and running a business, web site design, family history/geneaology, Oregon and Minnesota wines Derek: programming, math, singing, soccer, volleyball, basketball

We'd both love to improve our Spanish and French skills.

Countries I've Visited

Bermuda, France, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Yvonne's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile