Zeynep Sakalli's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Zeynep’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 36 References 23 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Turkish; learning Dutch, Spanish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • No occupation listed
  • Student of International Business
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

I'm a lover of different cultures, travelling and.. paragliding! I've been to many countries around Europe and I the more I see, the more I want to discover.

I'm an adventurous individual who enjoys being outdoors and spending time being active. While travelling, I love to get to know the locals and their customs, and I'm always up for a challenge. An ex Comenius Language Assistant in Germany, teaching English to primary school students and ex EVS volunteer in Poland, studying my second BA degree (Intl. Business) in Nürnberg at the moment. In the 3/4 of my time in Germany, I have worked in 3 different Irish pubs and 1/4 was spent bartending/waitressing in an Australian restaurant.

Besides, I used to paraglide regularly. I'm not a fan of aviation but I do love nature and being in different parts of it - especially the air! I'm looking forward to the day to get equipped and be up in the sky again.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Mostly surfing and currently trying to join the weekly meetings in my community.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've been surfing for a while and all my hosts were great people. But my experience in Wroclaw was the most unforgettable one, with my super super awesome host and since then friend, Wojtek!

And... I accidentally organised a meeting in Ankara. It was "accidentally" because I didn't plan to do such a thing - my aim was to find one or more companies for a winter party so I wrote about it on the city group but then it turned out to be a really huge event. I was quite shocked and happy about it.

Interests

Paragliding, youth exchanges, travelling, evolution/creation, space and astronomy, stargazing, collecting maps and free postcards, learning at least a bit of the language which is spoken in the community I'm in and to practice it just to see the smile on the local people's face, eating traditional/local food, especially the street food as it represents the real taste of the place better, and getting fat as a result of eating too much of typical food.

Music, Movies, and Books

The Big Bang Theory is the only TV series I am able to keep up with. I had to give up all the rest as I have a bit of a concentration problem.

If someone asks me for recommendation of films, The Fall and The Fountain are the first two I would immediately say.

THE CAT EMPIRE is the only band I can name as my favourite without even hesitating. Listening to them in the start of the day keeps me with full energy, awake and positive for the entire day. Apart from them, I listen to all kinds of music from metal to electronic and pop. There's only one category I can never like - Rap. RHCP, Deep Purple, Gorillaz, The Chemical Brothers, The Black Keys are the first bands I can think of when I am asked for the ones that I like.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Paragliding - whenever I do it has the first place of course! Then, maybe my EVS experience in Poland.

Update November 2016 - When I attended the concert of The Cat Empire in Valencia, I kept such a strong eye contact with each band member during the whole performance that they invited me and my friend for "a" beer just outside the venue, sharing all different kinds of beer they collected from their European tour. We basically hung out there for ours, talking as if we were friends since forever, exchanged contact info and got "special invitations" for their performance in Barcelona the following night. That was definitely a once in a lifetime experience I could ever have! :)

Update March 2017 - My solo intended trip to Morocco . "Intended", because I went there solo, with no single plan at all, and on my first night I met 3 Germans in my hostel room and we travelled together during my entire time there, renting a car, doing road trips, staying in the villages in the middle of nowhere, discovering tiny cute surf towns and living like locals there. My huge ugly bruises on my knees I got from learning how to surf are my souvenirs, and I am PROUD of them.

Teach, Learn, Share

We can of course share our travel experiences, maybe we find out something more in common.
I realized that I can always talk about languages. So, I'm ready to listen to you about them, and be ready to get more response! :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Lithuania, Malta, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Poland, Spain, Turkey

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    5 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Zeynep’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups