Logo orange

Zoltan Vandor

Budapest, Budapest, Hungary

Accepting Guests

70% response rate · Last login 9 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Zoltan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 25 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English, Hungarian; learning German, Italian
  • 50, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • sustain my development, support my c...
  • biology, programming
  • From Budapest, Hungary
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Vorrei incontrare ed ospitare italiani perchè ho ricominciato a studiare la lingua più bella :)

ABOUT ME

Mi piacerebbe ospitarvi o far vedervi qualche parte di Budapest e dintorni, o soltanto chiacchierare in italiano. Abito e lavoro nel centro, vicino al Castello, cosí possiamo avere un caffè a qualunque ora.
--
Well, far from being as tall as the camelopard but I'm just as curious, and accordingly like to wander and watch, to meet and talk.
I live and work in the middle of a city -surrounded by walls far too often- so I love to be outside and to be moving. I use my bike to commute year round. I greatly enjoy places like a meadow or a forest, or real villages. Just connecting with nice people can also be a relief after a day spent with the computer. Once I was working with birds to study their nests and family life as a biologist then I was enjoying a nice mixture of indoor and outdoor activities. Nowadays it's our lively dog who helps to overcome any reluctance.

PHILOSOPHY

be friendly

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Meet nice people from around the world, either by supporting them here in Budapest, or by enjoying their hospitality in or around their home. We are enthusiastic about hosting and being hosted. We love our city.
I think CS is a great idea, one of the best uses of the internet.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I had quite a few good experiences. Some of them were not via CS or HC, - just by chance, during my journeys I met many kind and helpful folks.
Maybe I mention my travel to East Berlin back in '85. I took my backpack with a tent and went alone from Budapest to Berlin hitchhiking at the end of the summer. I worked through the summer, I was tired and lonely, but then I got so much support, almost each day, all from unknown people, that I was astonished. There was the huge Czech butcher who shared his double bed in a room of a "workers' hostel". Well, I was a bit afraid, but after a terrible rainy day when I almost gave it up and turned back, I was desperate. Then the couple with whom I arrived at Berlin offered me the room of their son (being in college), - and was catering me, and giving me the key of the house, and putting me back on the highway at the end of my visit. And the priest giving me a lift in his Trabant and then room for the night, with whom we talked through half of the night although my German was far from good.

Interests

walking, wandering, hiking, traveling by all means
(: to be on the road again :)
enjoying many kinds of cultural and art stuff
socialize :)
eat well

open air, open view, living things, clouds, winds, lights / pictures - I like and did some photography.

Music, Movies & Books

a wide range of films, books and music...
There is a book I'd like to call your attention to, as sth immensely important (also wise and funny): The Continuum Concept by Jean Liedloff
http://www.jeanliedloff.com/home/gratitude-for-the-continuum-concept

Teach, Learn, Share

Flowers and birds; why diversity in nature is essential (certainly for societies as well); some photography stuff (how to make better pictures ;)
I studied biology, and worked in research for ten years (parental care in birds). Then I learned a lot about computers and programming, and now I make a living on that field.
I always enjoy learning and practicing languages, and w'd be willing to teach some as far as I can. I try to learn a bunch of words whenever I'm travelling in a country (tips in this field, like good webpages, are very welcome).
In general, I like to listen, I like to learn.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Montenegro, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Zoltan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile