Yecsan-Manuel Melendez Maldonado's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Yecsan-Manuel’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French, Italian
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • No occupation listed
  • Psychology and French
  • From Bayamon, Puerto Rico
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Visiting Eastern Europe and working in a hostel

ABOUT ME

I'€™m a 25 years old exchange student from Puerto Rico, I recently finished my bachelor's degree (Psychology and French) in Paris. I did WWOOFing (World Wide Opportunities in Organic Farms) in the French countryside for more than 3 months. These experiences changed my life. Now I just want to explore this amazing world, all it has to offer and all the alternative ways of living and sharing.

I consider myself to be a very respectful and open minded person, and I enjoy learning from other people and their cultures.

Finally, I think I'€™m adicted to that feeling you get once you arrive to a new city, village or any new place!

PHILOSOPHY

"€œYou are your words".
"œFake it until you make it"€.
"Just go with the flow".

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

For now only I plan on being a couch surfer since I’m traveling at the moment. I also want to have some CSing experience so I can have a clear idea on what the perfect host would be, so I can be a good host in the future. I’m also interested on participating on the CS events, and to meet other couch surfers and hosts while on the road.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have done couch surfing before with friends and people I had recently met (for example, friends I’ve made while doing WWOOFing, in a hostel, or studying abroad) But this will be the first time I will be doing couch surfing “officially” with people I haven’t met before. Honestly, I think it won’t be that big of a deal since I have experience doing WWOOFing, where you have to stay with people you had never met before for about two weeks to a few months!

Interests

My big passion right now is learning new languages and practicing the ones I already know (Spanish, English, French and a bit of Italian).

I love to travel whenever I can and I enjoy outdoor activities such as camping, hiking, biking, etc.even though I don'€™t have that much experience with them really.

I'€™m interested in becoming a backpacker to travel the world, is just a matter of when ;)

  • culture
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • languages
  • psychology

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I grew up listening to Puerto Rican Salsa (sadly I don'€™t dance, but I will learn once I go back to PR!). I like some alternative rock, techno and trance music. Also, I'm a big fan of video game and anime soundtracks. Some of the artists I enjoy are;CulturaProfetica, Evanescence, Mago de Oz, Rammstein, Nightwish, Marc Anthony, Justice, RokiaTraore, etc.

Books: Le pere de nos peres, The Hunger Games Trilogy, The Catcher in the Rye,Cinq lecons sur la psycoanalyse, Balzac et la Petite Tailleuse chinoise

Movies: The Fifth Elementh,The Matrix,Abre los Ojos, Prometheus, Kill Bill, I ragazzi del Reich

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Deciding to study French (my third language) in the University, then after three years putting everything I´ve learned in to practice by coming to France to finish the last semester of my bachelor’s degree, then having done WWOOFing in the French country side for more than three months…Long story short: My life has changed and I can only wait with excitement what’s next!

Teach, Learn, Share

I would be glad to help with any language I know (it will be good practice for me too). I like to learn new languages (I think that is clear now), and I would like to share a little bit of my culture, that little Island from where I come.

Countries I’ve Visited

France, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Puerto Rico

Join Couchsurfing to see Yecsan-Manuel’s full profile. It’s free!