François Cathala's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see François’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Chinese, Dutch, Spanish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Sometimes I make things, mostly out of wood (but paper mi...
  • Fine arts and wood cabinet making.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me


Try to find somewhere in the world where I could be useful.


Really passionate (stubborn)
Sometimes quiet (shy)
Mostly happy (moody)
Always ready (controlling)
Well, the perfect guest/host you could say.
It amazes me (and frankly gives me hope in mankind) that people would be so open-minded as to invite strangers into their home to share a piece of life with. So being a part of this community is my attempt at a more open-minded way of life as I consider myself a bit on the shy side.
That being said, I am truly looking forward to discover the world with the locals, and I hope I can return the favor when I settle down.


Haven't reached a fully-formed quote (I am no Aristotle), but something like "live now" would be appropriate (although a really tough goal to achieve as life happens).


A good adventure could sum it up.
I enjoy my daily swim and a bit of cycling here and there (also the most convenient way to get around in my opinion). Started kitesurfing (awesome - and it's just the beginning). Really like hiking and camping (nothing better to explore and be in sync with your environment).
Cinema is always a good option for me at any given moment, and having a book on-hand at all time is the (my) way to go.

  • arts
  • books
  • environment
  • gardening
  • movies
  • pottery
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • swimming

Music, Movies, and Books

The lists would be too long.
Let just say that book-wise, I enjoy novels (not a thriller fan) than run a very (very) long course. People's day to day life is what I enjoy - the little things an author manages to describe is a big turn on for me.
In the movie category I can honestly say that I like a wide variety - from the blockbusters (the good ones of course) to the little indie that didn't make it to Sundance (the good one of course). But I think what I enjoy most is the cinema experience. Entering this dark and (hopefully) confortable room and let the images take me away (yeah - cheesy).
As for the music list, well, I'm really no expert. A good surprise (but nothing too extreme).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Signing up on Easy, I know, but I'm sure the best things are yet to come.

Teach, Learn, Share

Well, I'm french so I might be able to give french lessons. I also am (although quite recently so) a wood cabinet maker, I could pass along some tips and tricks maybe.
I'd like to learn, well - everything, but surfing is on my bucket list, along with other outdoors activities. In the arts and craft department, ceramics for sure. How to grow a vegetable garden, parachute jumping, roof thatching, video editing, learning german and portuguese, are also on the list. And it goes on and on.

Join Couchsurfing to see François’s full profile. It’s free!