David Harper's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see David’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • I used to be a Marketer and a Writer. Now I'm just travel...
  • Two degrees in Marketing and in Management from the Unive...
  • From I was born and raised in Anchorage, Alaska in the United States.
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I've just quit my job and am now traveling around the world. The idea is that if I don't do this now, I won't ever do it, but realistically I just wanted to get out of dodge and get adventuring.

ABOUT ME

I realized when I wrote this that I wrote way, way too much.

I'm a people person who loves to share experiences with anyone and everyone. While I like my "me" time, almost everything is better when experienced with someone else. I love writing, running, hiking, frisbee sports, playing sports, partying with friends, reading, listening to music, dancing and singing poorly, and all kinds of other things.

I don't really know what the best decisions are for myself, but every one I've made so far feels right, so let's just keep going and assuming that I'm making the right ones going forward.

PHILOSOPHY

Essentially, I live my life how it feels right to live it, with all of the benefits and problems that come from that being fine for me.

What's the point of living if you don't stay true to yourself?

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm entirely new to this, but as a person who is looking to travel and share the community experience internationally, I'd like to bring that home to Alaska. We're a big place that could stand to be more close knit, especially for travelers.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Well, I'm not going to lie - I've slept on a lot of couches in my life. However, all of those couches belonged to:

a) myself
b) my friends
c) my family

So, in short, this will be a new experience for me.

Interests

Traveling, hiking, basketball (although I generally love sports), live music (or just music in general), writing (I blog constantly and write for my local newspaper), reading, cooking, new experiences, new people, being ridiculous, sunshine, movies.

Life, generally.

  • writing
  • singing
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • running
  • partying
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • blogging
  • knitting
  • music
  • live music
  • hiking
  • sports
  • basketball

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I love the standard indie names, classical music, rap and dance music whilst drinking, your random pop gem, reggae, electronic, you name it. I love music.

Books: I have a strangely soft (and huge) part in my heart for kids books and comics, but I occasionally read real books that I enjoy by people like Chuck Klosterman, Christopher Moore, Dave Eggers, and others. But seriously, mostly comics. I'm a massive comic book buff.

Movies: Rushmore, the Hudsucker Proxy, Moulin Rouge!, Children of Men, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, I Heart Huckabees, Slumdog Millionaire, Wall E, Howl's Moving Castle, the Sting, and kids movies.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One of the most amazing things I've ever done was taking a train ride across the entire United States. It was more expensive and far lengthier than a plane ride, but the experience of meeting people from all over the country and seeing how different the nation really is blew me away.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see David’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups