Logo orange

Christi Toburen

Kansas City, Kansas, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Christi's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 0 References
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Part time waitress to fund my travel...
  • I have a degree in Advertising from ...
  • From Kansas City
  • Profile 35% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

My biggest mission right now is to be able to continue to stay in Australia and make the Kansans proud!

ABOUT ME

I'm 24 and from Kansas. I love travelling and just graduated last May. I travelled around Europe for a few weeks afterward and fell in love with it. I met some great people and wanted to go out and see more as soon as I made it home. Afterwards I couldn't find a "grown-up" job in the States (damn recession!)so I decided to go on an adventure and bought a ticket and got a visa for Australia. I've been here since the beginning of May 2009 and absolutely love it!

PHILOSOPHY

I always liked this saying and I think it portrays my philosophy on life: "You can complain that a rose bush has a thorn or you can rejoice because a thorn bush has a rose- its all up to you" See the uniqueness and beauty in things and make the most out of life.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I just discovered CS earlier this week and I am completely fascinated. I think it seems incredible and I am excited to be part of it now.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I actually haven't had any official CouchSurfing experiences- but have been living in the lounge room of a friends for the last month. Not sure if that counts but it is as close as I come so far! Have had friends who surfed across Europe. One even found his soulmate sleeping on a couch in Poland!

Interests

Music, reading, meeting new people and seeing new places. People in general just interest me. I like to find out people's stories and what gets them going.

Music, Movies & Books

My favorite movie is Best in Show. Period. That movie continues to make me laugh no matter how many times I've seen it.

I love lots of kinds of music. Some favorites: Radiohead, Foreigner ( I don't care what anyone says- this shit is catchy!), The Shins, Violent Femmes, Zeppelin, The Beatles, Sujur Ros, Elvis Costello, Stevie Wonder, Modest Mouse, Beck and anything else that intrigues me that day. I like to keep it varied.

Books: Anything by Kurt Vonnegut. Love Joesph Heller and although I've read it dozens of time I still like to reread The Catcher in the Rye every now and again.
I just finished Shantaram last week and that absolutely blew my mind. Look into it.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Some of the most fun I have ever had was white water rafting in the rain on a river in Austria. The mountains were beautiful and the company was fantastic. I never stopped laughing the entire time and ended up swallowing a lot of river water but I will never forget that day!

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm not sure what I can teach other people but maybe to take things in stride and enjoy everything there is out there. Keep judgments minimal. When you start judging everyone and everything you miss out on a lot. I think everyone has some aspect of their personalities that can be beneficial to others. I can show you that a girl from Kansas can be a hell of a lot of fun!!

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Austria, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Christi's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile