Rachel Gottlieb

Kansas City, MO, USA

Accepting Guests

  • 7% response rate
  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachel’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fashion Designer
  • High School, Fashion Technology, Fashion Institute of Tec...
  • From New York City, NY
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


My life mission is to obtain as much knowledge as possible through traveling, books, and life experiences.


I am a lively, open-minded, positive girl. I enjoy smiling and being productive. I am maternal and warm. I really agree with the phrase "Home is where the heart is". I am a fashion designer and have a deep love for playing dress up. Lilys are my favorite flower. I love dancing and do it on an almost daily basis. Dancing has served as one of the greatest modes of self expression for me.


Ideally I would love to learn every second of everyday. I was brought up all by members of the education system, but believe most learning is done outside of the classroom.Other things I believe in are equality, non violence, animal rights, beauty everywhere, and the timelessness of time.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have surfed my way around America and have hosted in my apartment in NYC. After a long bout of traveling I moved to the midwest and have lived in Kansas City since late October of 2014.


I have had only positive and memorable couch surfing experiences.


exploring, animals, sewing and fashion design, baking, debating, reading, singing, traveling, meeting new people and welcoming them into my life, dancing, and drawing

Music, Movies, and Books

Any movie that makes me think for entertainment with out relying on fast moving bright objects to hold my attention.
I love old school rap, reggae, folk, experimental, alternative, classic rock, metal, rock, dance hall, acoustic, classical, and some other genres.

Lucretius- on the nature of things
Anything by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
The Secret Life of Plants
and any psychology, philosophy, or sociology book I can get my hands on. Children's books will never grow old.
the phantom tollbooth

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Every day leaves me awestruck. I try to fill every day of my life with meaningful moments and opportunities for revelations. Just this week some amazing things have happened including me joining 9000 other dancers in the annual NYC dance parade which is always total insanity, going to a gala at the Metropolitan Museum of Art and being surrounded by beautiful well-dressed people with a deep appreciation for art, and seeing a a Shakespeare play in one of my favorite local gardens surrounded by roses and herbs. That was just 3 days out of my life! Imagine the other 362 of this year! Life is just so perfect!

Teach, Learn, Share

I am very knowledgeable in garment construction, sketching with many different mediums, tailoring and alterations, and textiles. I can easily teach someone how to sew on a button or how to put pockets on all their favorite clothes.
I've also worked in 2 bakeries and have become a great baker. Always interested in sharing a recipe.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I have a two bedroom apartment which I share with my primary partner of two years, Gray. We share a bedroom and the other bedroom is my personal space. The second bedroom is where you would stay. There's a comfy couch and my cats will probably snuggle with you. I primarily work from home so I have a flexible schedule to show you around. Gray really only wants me to host girls or couples since he feels uncomfortable with me hosting men by myself. This was our compromise.

Countries I’ve Visited

Israel, Mexico, Peru

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachel’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups