Kate Tomlinson's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kate’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • No languages listed
  • 39, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Nurse
  • Various degrees
  • From London
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

always learning and growing

ABOUT ME
I live and work in Cambridge as a nurse, although I am from London, where I have previously lived for many years. I have only been living in Cambridge for the last few months, and before that was travelling around Asia and Europe for 16 months. While on that trip I did a yoga teacher training course, volunteered in Bihar, India, as a nurse, hiked in Nepal, cycled around Sri Lanka, and walked the Camino de Santiago.
Travel is a big part of my life, I always have in mind another trip. I feel like there is so much to experience in this world, to see beautiful landscapes, experience different cultures, meet new people. I see life as one big journey in growing and developing - every day, week, month and year. Travel is a good way to help you do that .
When at home I also try to live life according to the same philosophy, and seek mini adventures on my home territory.
I am fit and active, and practice yoga regularly, cycle, walk and get out in the outdoors as much as is possible. I am a vegetarian, and eat healthily. I try to meditate, but not as much as I should.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Couched in Spain, France, Slovenia and hope to do more of it in the future. I'm coming to Myanmur in January 2015 and want to couch in Yangon and Mandalay.
I love the experiences it brings, the people you meet and the local touch it gives to traveling around a country/seeing a place. I find travel is about the experience of the encounters with the people you meet, and the suggestions they have, not just following the guide book. Where possible, discarding it in favour of the shared moments with new friends you make through couchsurfing.

Interests

I am interested in doing nearly anything. Throw a suggestion my way and usually I will agree to give it a go!
I love do anything, really, I'm love exploring the outdoors and going into nature as much as possible, but I also grew up in London so I'm very happy to go somewhere more cultural, watch a play, movie, be in a city etc...

  • books
  • vegetarian
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • teaching
  • nursing
  • tourism

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, Egypt, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Kenya, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Spain, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

India, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Kate’s full profile. It’s free!