Antoine Mechelynck's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Antoine’s full profile.


  • 9 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Esperanto, French; learning Catalan, Valencian, Dutch, German, Italian, Russian, Spanish
  • 70, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • mostly at the computer, reading a certain mailing list.
  • I could teach math to 14-year-olders if I were a little m...
  • From Brussels, Belgium
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

In English I'm called Tony.
En français, je m'appelle Antoine.
En Esperanto mi nomiĝas Antono.
Ik heet Toone in het Vlaams, of Anton in het Hollands.
In italiano mi chiamo Antonio.
По-русски меня зовут Тоней, или по имени и отчеству Антоном Андреевичем.


Carpe diem.


Ethnicity: My ancestors were Belgian (8 great-grandparents: 3 Flemish, 3 Walloon, 2 from Brussels). A family legend says that a farther ancestor, a Venetian named Michaeli, changed his name when he came to Ghent to do business with the British. Now that I've found Esperanto all people are my brethren no matter where they were born, educated, or live.

For the rest, if you still have questions after seeing my home site and/or googling, then ask and I may answer.


In the US they may label me a "secular humanist" and even believe (wrongly) that since I don't go to church I have no morals. Know Aesop's fable, "The Blind Men and the Elephant"? I see it as a parabola of theologians and God.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I've started this profile (obviously), groups and email. I'll try not to forget announced club meetings, I'm open to tea or a drink, and we can proceed from there - but don't rush me, I'm only 64½ years young.


hm, I wouldn't say I've had much; but it's growing, see above.

It had HTML customizations, and despite the sentence at the bottom of this "Edit your Profile" page (the sentence starting "If you would like to copy your old HTML customizations,") no matter what I try I can't add HTML to _this_ profile. For instance, neither < b > nor < span style="font-weight: bold" > will give me bold text.


everything. (Homo sum, et humani nihil a me alienum puto). Math, languages, classical music, science fiction, you name it.

"My Personality" as of 19-Nov-2011:

"Sitting on the fence" between Thinking and Feeling ("Visionary Dreamer" but almost "Intellectual Engineer"); and on the right side, the first four, but not the others, are in the same order as when I took the same test I don't know how long ago (a few years?)

  • drinking
  • clubbing
  • music
  • classical music
  • business
  • divinity
  • engineering
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: anything by Vivaldi, Bach, Mozart. Also Aznavour, Brassens, Béart, Gainsbourg. The Beatles. And more...

My favourite song hasn't changed since (at least) 2005: it's still the Birdcatcher's Song from Mozart's Magic Flute. I don't have a link to a recording, but here's one to the lyrics, with translation and illustration by me.

Movies: it's been too long since I went to the cinema.

Books: I wouldn't know where to begin. Asimov (including non-fiction). Robert Heinlein. Poul Anderson. Articles from Scientific American. Belgian cartoons. Lewis Carroll (Alice but also The Game Of Logic). Encyclopaedias. Harry Potter. Jean C. Auel (Ayla's adventures). Molière. And more.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I'll have to research that one. I suppose that you might be amazed by what is ordinary life to me.

Oh, I know: discussed theology a whole night with a girl whose boyfriend was dead drunk in the next room, then come home to the most wonderful sunrise in my life.

Fallen in love to a lesbian and even dated her. (I said dated, not bedded. Of course, she regarded me as a friend, not a lover.)

Teach, Learn, Share

Well, I've taught math, programmed in COBOL, translated English and Dutch to French, scrapped Windows for Linux, what else? I've even studied Latin in high school (6 hours a week for 6 years) without anything to show for it - _that_ language I won't be able to teach you.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, France, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In


Join Couchsurfing to see Antoine’s full profile.

My Groups