Logo orange

Anny Gafner

Grantham, Lincolnshire, England

Not Accepting Guests

Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Anny's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 1 Positive References
  • Fluent in Swiss German
  • 69, Other
  • Member since 2009
  • Housewife, host, gardener, cleaner, ...
  • The usual schooling a long time ago ...
  • From Switzerland
  • Profile 40% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

There is so much to see and to experience - can we fit it all in? Yes - I certainly intend to have a go at just about anything that crops up - right now, this minute - tomorrow or next year!

ABOUT ME

Together with my husband, we live in a house that was a good size as long as the children were at home. Now that they have flown the nest, it's a bit big just for the two of us, but we love to meet people and provide a home from home. We are easy-going and enjoy this time of life where we are free from the pressures of work and in good health to make the most of each day; the freedom to shape each day according to what we fancy. Wonderful! Long may it last.

PHILOSOPHY

Live and let live - can't think of very much just now apart from what I've already mentioned above.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I read a blogger's experience in a French vineyard which had a link to 'couchsurfers'. Being of an inquisitive mind, I read into it and thought it was a fantastic idea and well worthwhile. I've just had my first enquiry to host next month and I hope that this will be the first of many happy hostings. Whenever possible, I spread the word as this is such a clever yet easy route to understand each other's cultures.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

None so far (May 2010) but our first one booked for next month.

Interests

Gardening, food and wine and everything that's involved with it, embroidery & textiles, painting (me), veteran cars & football (hubby), music, travelling

Music, Movies & Books

Pretty much average taste - belong to a local bookclub and apart from that I like to read biographies and travelling diaries. Hubby likes John le Carré etc. Music: used to play the piano but due to lack of time, fingers have gone a bit rusty.... it's on my list of 'to do things', to rejuvenate and practise this aspect.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Israel - near En Gedi - 1968 (part of a group of youngsters who work in a Kibbuz): just before it gets dark - wonderful sun set - a very basic youth hostel - an Italian male choir singing La Montanara! Amazing. Tamina Schlucht, Bad Ragaz, Switzerland: Very deep ravine and the rocks high above you almost touching each other. At about 11 am the sun just manages to send its rays right down through these very narrow openings so that the water mist appears like a thin veil. Wow - this is nature unbridled!

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: don't consider myself proficient enough to teach but I'll share whatever knowledge I have - be it to do with food, plants, hobbies with whoever wants to make use of what I have to offer.

Join Couchsurfing to see Anny's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile