Naomi Biggs's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Naomi’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 5 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 37, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Managing a leadership program at a university
  • Up to marketing degree
  • From Ramsgate, Kent, England
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To be content with everyday

ABOUT ME

I am British, from the south east of England. I've done a fair amount of travelling, mostly whilst volunteering or woofing, but also back packing. I left the UK in 2008 and was on the road for two years until settling in Ballarat, Victoria. Since then I have been working at the local university and taking the opportunity to explore my new home.

I love the lifestyle here but must admit to missing the richness of different cultures from Europe to Central America and the Caribbean. So to get my fix and to give back to the travelling community I would like to be a host for couch surfers!

PHILOSOPHY

My personal philosophy is still based on my catholic upbringing of being kind and loving towards everyone. I am on a permanent journey of learning how to do this better, including how to love myself better too. I constantly put myself out of my comfort zone, so I'm always learning things about myself and the world around me.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

A wonderful friend who I met in Tobago introduced me to couch surfing on our travels together. We experienced an amazing welcome from two different hosts in Miami and in Mexico, all of which made me realise that couch surfing is not just about somewhere to stay for free, but a wonderful insight into the life of people living in different places.
I enjoyed a wonderful thanks giving dinner with fellow couch surfers a few years back and I can't wait to be part of the community again.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I left Tobago after a wonderful 6 months there, arriving in Miami excited about seeing the city but also heart broken to have left many great people in Tobago. The welcome I got in Miami was exactly what I needed to put the smile back on my face - I can't thank my host enough for making me feel so welcome.

Interests

Scuba diving - I'm a dive master.
Most water sports - I love to be in the ocean or on it. I love Australia for the outdoor lifestyle I can have here, it's worlds away from the life I had in Kent. I love to swim in the local lake or walk.

Experiencing new things - all suggestions welcome.

  • culture
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • sports
  • swimming
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

I love movies, I would always choose Love Actually over Die Hard, but I wouldn't mind an evening with Bruce Willis either.
I'm a sporadic book reader, I get so emotionally attached to characters that I am heartbroken when the book ends so I don't pick up another book for a year!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Snorkeled with dolphins and a whale shark - lovely.

Teach, Learn, Share

I've picked up lots of info about the ocean, marine life and conservation of it - I'm always happy to chat about the differences we can make to our planet and share my enthusiasm for everything under the sea!

More recently I mentored aboriginal young women, learning lots about their culture, but also lots about emotional well being. I am very interested in mindfulness and spirituality.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belize, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Honduras, Hong Kong, Kenya, Mexico, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Philippines, Spain, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Trinidad and Tobago, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Naomi’s full profile. It’s free!