Luk De Ryck's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Luk’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 21 References 20 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French; learning Afrikaans, German, Spanish
  • 42, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • comics artist
  • Master's Degree Languages
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Ticking off items on my bucking list.

ABOUT ME

I'm alright. You know, patient, tolerant, adventurous, I like classic rock. But hold on! I also enjoy peace and quiet and wide open spaces.

I've worked as a travel agent (in Turkey, Russia and all over Europe - still do), communications manager for Wolters Kluwer, development worker (in South-Africa), teacher, handicap nurse, accountant, DJ, translater,...

These days I'm a published comic books author, and I stubbornly write and record my own songs.

PHILOSOPHY

What fun is being cool if you can't were a sombrero?

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I got my first taste of couchsurfing in the USA, did a little more since in other countries, most recently in Cameroon. I've never had the chance to host anyone yet as I'm always traveling, but look forward to it.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

So far so good. In 2009-2010, I embarked on a three month long improvised bicycle trip from Miami to LA, met a handful of people thanks to CS and feel blessed for it.

Pictures of this journey: http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1295678270313.45350.1181028207&type=1

I've enjoyed several hosts' hospitality since. Even though I haven't been able to host myself (the scarce times that I'm actually not traveling myself, I tend to live in remote areas where no CS'ers seem to find me), I like to think I've helped out a few people who've asked me for some travel advice.

Interests

Traveling. Music. Traveling music.

  • music
  • cycling

Music, Movies, and Books

British comedy, Seinfeld, mindless cop movies from the '80's (I don't know why), James Bond and all kind of epic-but-not-pretentious adventure movies.

Classic rock & power pop. My favourite band of the moment are the New Pornographers: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sn-LDCRL8Js

Not much of a book reader, and yet somehow I know how to wreede and right. Actually I do read magazines and - my passion and sometime occupation - Franco-Belgian comic books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Bike trip from Miami to LA, 2009-2010. Time of my life. Repeated the experience in New Zealand, 2013-2014, and again in Mexico 2015-2016.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cameroon, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Germany, Gibraltar, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Lesotho, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Montenegro, New Zealand, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Bulgaria, Democratic Republic of Congo, France, Italy, Kenya, Portugal, Romania, South Africa, Spain, Turkey

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Luk’s full profile. It’s free!