Joyce Higgs's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joyce’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Italian
  • 64, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Having retired early, I get to do whatever I feel like!
  • University degree (BA, McGill University)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 80% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To live in harmony with nature and become as self-sufficient as possible.

ABOUT ME

Once our three children left home, my husband and I bought a ten-acre piece of land in the country and built a house three years ago. We are now enjoying a much simpler life in the country - lots of fresh air and exercise working in our garden, time to finally read all those books on my bookshelf, enjoying nearby friends and entertainment, internet, but no television (our choice)! We find that the longer we live in the country, the less we need cities.

PHILOSOPHY

"A loving person lives in a loving world. A hostile person lives in a hostile world. Everyone you meet is your mirror."

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

My husband and I have a couch in the country about two hours northeast of Toronto, Ontario and will be visiting our daughter in Italy in March 2010, so we're looking for some Italian couches to surf.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I haven't couchsurfed yet, but our son and daughter-in-law have and the raved about it - they met wonderful people in their travels that they never would have found otherwise. We hope to do the same.

Interests

I seem to have had "five year plans" throughout my life, but right now, together with my husband, I'm focused on our 10-acre property: we are working in harmony with nature to be as self-sufficient as possible. I sell our produce at the weekly farmers' market and we grow flower gardens in the nearby village and food for community members.

  • books
  • dining
  • farmers' market
  • exercise
  • gardening
  • flowers
  • law

Music, Movies, and Books

Classic sci-fi (Asimov, Clarke, Herbert), Victorian and Canadian history books; Canadian roots and folk music; not much into movies.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

For five years, I lived on our sailboat with my husband and three children. We left our comfortable middle-class suburban lifestyle in Canada and cruised the US eastern seaboard and the Bahamas. Every day was an adventure and we lived a simple - but incredibly rich and satisfying - life.

Teach, Learn, Share

Cero ergo sum (I garden therefore I am). I love to share knowledge about native and heritage plants, self-sufficiency and living in harmony with nature.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahamas, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Italy, United Kingdom, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bermuda, Canada

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Joyce’s full profile. It’s free!