Amanda and Michael Cramer's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Amanda and Michael’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 6 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English; learning Zulu
  • 40, Other
  • Member since 2010
  • Self Employed Designers
  • Design Degree
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


live what you love

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


We have met some lovely people and so glad they all turned out to be close friends in the end :D




We work quite a bit and dont get much time for travelling overseas but we do travel locally. And go out on Day trips when we have a bit of time off during the week. We love Scandinavian design, furniture and decor. Our home is eclectic i guess we are slowly building up the look and feel. So don't expect a designer home haha. We are not really materialistic. We do enjoy technology. We occasionally enjoy an Xbox game. We are movie and TV Shows addicts. I guess because we work long hours its an easy way to escape a long day. We often take drives out into the country. Or take annual trips to a new place we haven't seen. There is still so much to explore in our own country. We have 6 dogs. Three large breeds and a medium breed, as well as two smaller breed dogs. One cat. They sleep inside so you would need to be fine with navigation around them. We are pretty tidy. Our animals are well trained and all go to their beds at night and stay there. We don't allow them on the furniture. The large dogs are outside duirng the day. We are vegetarian. So our meals are pretty quick to make. We have family in Pietermaritzburg and in Hilton ( where we reside. Hilton is 10 monutes just oustide pietermaritzburg. Away from the hustle and bustle. But still close enough to go sightseeing. We are in fact where the Midlands Meander starts. ( and closer to the Drakensberg. Our home is a 4 bedroom house with a 7 000 sqm garden surrounded by some tall trees, which obviously draws quite a bit of wildlife. Which Includes troops of Monkeys, duiker, porcupines, and birds. We prefer living here, seeing that we work a lot, a stroll in the garden quickly disarms you. We are equally close to the beach. Which is only a 40 min drive and where you can experience whole new eclectic and cultural town called Durban. Or simply catch some sun. Even in winter Durban is warm and sunny. Our part of the neighborhood however can get freezing and during winter we have a lot of ways of coping which includes warm jackets and gas heaters. ;)

  • animals
  • cats
  • dogs
  • wildlife
  • birds
  • culture
  • design
  • vegetarian
  • gardening
  • technology
  • tv
  • traveling
  • history
  • sightseeing
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

we always say if you like the same movies and shows we do we are meant to meet haha. There are unfortunately so many we watch that I'm not sure i can mention them all. We like most movies that are rated high on Rotten Tomatoes haha. Shows range from Hannibal to Silicon Valley.

Amanda enjoys historical novels, autobiography and the occasional fantasy. Michael would rather read a few tech blogs or do research on a certain topic.

We both enjoy similar music. It ranges between current hits and indie folk music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- We both lived and worked in America.

- We are finally in a place where we work for our selves and we can be creative in other areas of our life.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Information about the local area and the diverse South African culture.

Countries I’ve Visited

Mozambique, South Africa, Swaziland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Africa, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Amanda and Michael’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups