Zane  Khan's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Zane ’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Irish; learning German
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Research Assistant/Special Needs Counsellor
  • BA Psychology
  • From Laois, Ireland
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

Hey there, Couchsurfing community :) Conas ata sibh? (How are you in the Irish language) :D My name is Zane, I'm an Irish guy in my mid twenties who has been working in the United States this summer near Philadelphia. I worked as a Special Needs Counsellor for kids with developmental and intellectual disabilities at a summer camp. Now that I've finished up there, I'm looking to explore your wonderful country as best (and as cheap) as I can. I'm a very outgoing, friendly and nice natured man, who's just trying to make friends and experience American culture, while perhaps incorporating a bit of my own authentic Irish charm in the process :D

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I, like most others, joined Couchsurfing for two principle reasons; to be able to maximize my traveling by saving funds, and secondly, to make some friends and meet some cool people in the process. I know my profile seems a bit sparse, but I literally joined this just today (September 8th, 2015). I've had some difficulty with Airbnb (namely a lack of responses to requests for accommodation), so I am reaching out to this wonderful community to see if you can help a helpless young Irishman :P I often have had friends stay on my couch from all over the world (I studied for a year in the Netherlands, and made a lot of international friends!), so while I'm a newbie to the site, I am well experienced on the principle.

Interests

I'm a man with a multitude of interests. I really enjoy sports of all kinds; from soccer, to rugby, to golf and everything in between. I was exposed to American Football this summer, along with ultimate frisbee and absolutely loved both of them. I play hurling and gaelic football at home, and have no problem explaining/teaching them to anyone haha.

Naturally, I love traveling. Having spent a year studying in the Netherlands, I also visited many other parts of Europe; including France, Germany, Belgium, Italy, Estonia, Latvia and Poland among others. Learning about other cultures is something I'm deeply passionate about and I'm always game for meeting new people from different countries, or different ways of life (very openminded!).

  • culture
  • traveling
  • camping
  • sports
  • american football
  • soccer
  • rugby
  • golf

Music, Movies, and Books

Oh wow, this is a toughie. My taste in music is so eclectic it's hard to even describe. Overall though, I'm a rock and metal fan. I've seen Queens of the Stone Age, Metallica, Linkin Park, Avenged Sevenfold live at concerts before. I also like more chilled music too; Hozier, George Ezra, Ed Sheeran are some artists I've been listening to a lot recently.

I'm a huge Stephen King fan. I have a large collection of his novels. My favourites probably are Different Seasons (the one with the Shawshank Redemption) and Pet Cemetery. I love classic novels like Of Mice and Men, and 1984 too, though.

There are so many good movies out there it's hard to narrow it down, but American History X, Shutter Island, Donny Darko are definitely up there. Then again, I'm just as happy watching Lord of the Rings, Avengers or any Disney film too lol.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I sky-dived once on an Island off the west coast of Ireland. Great fun, not to be repeated though! :P My poor heart couldn't take it!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can bring a rich blend of Irish culture to hosts, and a very warm, open personality.

Countries I’ve Visited

England, Estonia, France, Germany, Latvia, Poland, Scotland, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ireland, Netherlands, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Zane ’s full profile. It’s free!