Daniela & Imbir's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 71% response rate
  • Last login 11 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniela’s full profile.

Overview

  • 38 references 34 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Polish; learning Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • PhD fellow
  • Microbiology-Infectology on Laval University
  • From Kraków, Lesser Poland Voivodeship, Poland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Me: one of the happiest beings on this planet :) enjoying every element of everyday life and paying attention to all the unimportant, seemingly-stupid details that almost nobody cares about. At the present moment being a slave of my passion for virology as a PhD fellow in Québec City.

Imbir: an eternal teenager in never ending existential crisis, an ex-military on his way through biochemistry studies. Likes fast bikes, mountain hikes, cooking (awesome cook) and putting his physical integrity in danger in any possible way. As far as I’m a shy’ish introvert, Imbir is my extravertic missing element. A great travelling bro, always ready to get his hands dirty, tinkering with some mechanics stuff

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

With my three weeks of holidays per year, I'm no longer able to travel as much as I would like to... if I cannot leave my place for the world, let the world come to my place ;)
At some point of I realised that seeing places, feeding the eyes with beautiful landscapes and getting all those “must-see”s checked out of the list leaves my travels somehow empty. Couchsurfing is a way to make the journey a meaningful experience, it reminds me that good people are everywhere on this planet and makes me believe in humanity

Interests

Me: I get interested in everything I lay my hands on. I am passionate about virology; I'm working on the development of new anti-viral vaccines. I used to paint, draw, play the percussion, congas as well as djembe drums. I am a staunch enthusiast of literature, language learning (French, English, Russian, Spanish) sport (went through callisthenics, pole dancing, classical dance, bodybuilding and box) and of course cuisine! good food makes me sometimes burst into tears from happiness

  • arts
  • poetry
  • dining
  • cooking
  • bodybuilding
  • movies
  • socializing
  • painting
  • music
  • drums
  • backpacking
  • sailing
  • philosophy
  • food
  • travelling
  • horse riding
  • buddhism
  • diving
  • mindfulness
  • gym
  • mindfulness meditation
  • litterature
  • gastronomy
  • french
  • calisthenics
  • percussion
  • biotechnology
  • box
  • virology

Music, Movies, and Books

It's much better to ask what are my favourites this week ^^
Speaking about books, L'étranger, Master and Margarita, The Unbearable Lightness of Being, Solaris and Der Steppenwolf remain always on the highest shelf of my esteem.

My favourite writers are Lem, Gombrowicz, Camus, Zola and Balzac.
When it comes to music- my favourite classics are: Tool, Radiohead, Massive Attack, David Bowie, Rammstein, A Perfect Circle, Puscifer, Primus, Chumbawamba, Van der Graaf Generator, Laibach, Aphrodite's Child and King Crimson

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Volunteering in Budapest in Equal Chances Foundation for disabled people

Volunteering for Palliative Care Clinic in India

Backpacking for three weeks through India: sleeping in jumping night trains and buses, doing laundry on bus stations and drying my wet clothes by holding them out of the window of the bus/ train c:

Staying in a Buddhist retreat centre in the middle of the jungle for 3 weeks to practise mindfulness meditation and minimalistic way of life

Teach, Learn, Share

Let's talk and see what we can/ want learn from each other :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Lots of positive energy hidden under my straight face and cold glare ;) stories and experiences, exchange of thoughts while cooking something yummy together. We would also be happy to show you around Québec city

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Italy, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, France, Hungary, India, Poland, Thailand

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniela’s full profile.

My Groups