Jerome Jean Eason's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jerome Jean’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Previous work: Call centre agent / Draftsman / Waiter
  • Diploma in Project Design & Architectural Technology
  • From Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

Good day all Couch Surfers. Hosts and Guests.
Currently solo travelling. Visited my home country South Africa after being away a while in Australia. Nostalgia played a big part during my stay. One of the things that no one can take from you is Memories, even though Forgetfulness plays a part. haha.
Decided to leave work for travel was the one thing to prove to myself that I could do what I wanted. There is another story to this.

I heard about CS many months back, but had not considered using it until now that I have been in search to travel places I've always wanted to go. I'm sure there are many of us out there wanting to travel. Good luck to everyone.

I've worked at a Japanese restaurant called Shiki before for a number of years in Sydney. I've learnt some basic greetings and phrases as well some useless words for fun. haha.
I've had some Korean and German roommates before in Sydney. Have met different people from all walks of life and meeting more are awesome.
Stayed with a friend near Saitama Japan for 2 days. Stayed with a Korean friend in Cheongnyangni for 2 days and another in Siheung Dong for a week. These are all experiences that will be a long life memory.
Engaged in a Work Exchange program at Philstay Hostel DDP in the Dongdaemun area for the whole of June 2016. I dont know where I will end up in this trip, but I would love to hear your stories.

I respect all rules and regulations enforced by hosts. I clean up after myself. I don't have a specific type of host, but as long as a place is kept clean and tidy, they are respectful and communicative. There can many barriers between people with languages, so lets do our best to communicate as much as we can

I'm always up for a nice chat at the same time I am planning my next trips to a different location day by day, so I can also be busy doing that, as well as some light photo and video editing of my somewhat world trip. Lets talk when we have a chance about anything and everything.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

The wonderful world of Couch Surfing. I want to embark on this journey that I never thought of doing years back. Now is the time. I want to learn about CS and eventually spread the CS love across. Thank you to Matt Cohler, Casey Fenton and Dan Hoffer. No experience is the same without experiencing it with the locals and this seems like the best way.

Interests

I have many interests, but when there's so many how do you concentrate fully on all. The ones that I tend to stick to are relate to creativity/innovation/freestyle. The following are:
1. Drawing -
* Architectural drawing
* Pencil sketching
* Still life
* Figure drawing
* Murals (I would love to do murals in the future)
* Grafitti
2. Writing -
* Poetry
* Creative writing
* Descriptive writing
* Memoir (life experiences in as much detail as possible)
3. Photography - my instagram https://www.instagram.com/jvibes/
4. Reading (generally biographies. I have read Anne Frank Diary out of the Denzel Washington bio / Steve Jobs bio / Nelson Mandela bio)
5. Cooking (fav dishes to cook - roast bbq pork / roast chicken / stir fry noodle / fried rice / quiche from scratch when I have time. I like experimenting with food)
6. Film (I am looking to build up a small portfolio of various travel clips for my own one piece video clip)
7. Long coastal walks
8. Sports -
* Squash (my favourite sport)
* Tennis
* Skateboarding (used to skateboard 8 years back in South Africa. I still have one, but am rusty. I find it to be a good workout)

  • writing
  • books
  • poetry
  • photography
  • sketching
  • dining
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • bbq
  • reading
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • music
  • skateboarding
  • sports
  • tennis
  • racquetball
  • languages
  • squash

Music, Movies, and Books

There are too many, but I can't think of them all now. Lets talk about it when we meet some day.

Fav Saying
"Don't compare yourself to others, you don't know what they've been through"
"Food tastes better when shared with someone" (heard this from a Korean guy whom we became friends in Sydney)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Was able to see my 93yrold Grandfather and 89 yr old Grandmother just recently in South Africa after many years. Nothing beats the comfort of family. Unfortunately my grandmother had a stroke many years ago, her body is half paralysed and her speech is distorted. My grandfather has had many falls injuring his body, but their minds are intact and still are going strong.

At a moment in everyones busy life you do realise it can be quite short and anything can happen from now until we get to mature age. Let's seize the moment)

Teach, Learn, Share

Commenced on my trip on the 14th of March to see the world as it is. The following journey is covered:
Sydney > Los Angeles > Vancouver > Taipei > Tokyo > Osaka > Busan > Daegu > Seoul. Currently Seoul.
Planning further trips to Beijing > Nepal > India > Bangledash > Burma > Laos > Thailand > Vietnam > Cambodia > Malaysia > Singapore > Jakarta >Papa New Guinea where possible

My Korean friends had the idea that I could teach English as I am patient so I tried it for a bit to some Korean and Japanese people, it was more speaking lessons than anything else and it was fun.

What I Can Share with Hosts

* Life stories and experiences
* Cooking experience

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Canada, Japan, South Africa, South Korea, Taiwan

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, South Africa, South Korea

Join Couchsurfing to see Jerome Jean’s full profile. It’s free!