Veerle van Wijk's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Veerle’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French, German; learning Chinese (Simplified)
  • 22, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Student
  • Leiden University College The Hague
  • From Duiven, Gelderland, Netherlands
  • Profile 70% complete

About Me

Student of Leiden University College The Hague, major in World Politics . Can't currently host, as I am now living with my parents - as I will be on an exchange to the University of Hawaii at Manoa. Therefore, I am looking for hosts on the Big Island from August 5th to August 11th, on Maui from August 11th to August 16 and from August 16 a few days onwards in Honolulu, as I still need student housing from August till December there. Any place on those islands would be great! I'll plan my trip around the place where I am welcome. If anyone has tips concerning housing in Honolulu, preferably nearby the university, with a (shared) kitchen and small, preferably furnished private bedroom under 1250 euros, message me!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Trying to find a place to stay in Hawaii on the islands of Maui, Big Island and Oahu, as I would love to be introduced to these beautiful islands by locals!

Interests

  • organic food
  • politics
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • philosophy
  • political science
  • social science
  • vegetarian cooking
  • environmentalism
  • vegetables
  • environmental philosophy
  • vegetartian

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: everything that's golden and old, from Bob Marley to Pink Floyd, Bee Gees to Beatles - and some classical music, country and pop too.
Books: all that I can find to read, preferably Dutch authors of literature as A.F.Th. van der Heijden and Harry Mulisch. Furthermore, I love books by Svetlana Alexiejevich, Donna Tart and Jostein Gaarder.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Probably just being outdoors as much as possible, reading a book or listening to the sounds of nature.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can cook great vegetarian dishes, I try to learn and speak some Mandarin Chinese (HSK 3 level), I am a good baker of cookies and cakes!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Laughing, having a good talk, cooking great dinners, singing, dancing - just having fun!

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Slovakia, Slovenia, Turkey, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Veerle’s full profile. It’s free!