Laura Casas Ferrer's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Laura’s full profile.

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Catalan, Valencian, English, Spanish; learning French, Italian
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • PhD student
  • Biochemistry & Materials science
  • From Orís, Barcelona, Spain
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

I'm a Catalan 23-year-old girl, I'm from Barcelona but I am just about to start a PhD in Biophysics in Montpellier (France). I am willing to discover new places near the city and also to meet people from around the world!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've decided to join Couchsurfing because it's the best way to learn about the place you are visiting: its culture, people, traditions, typical cuisine, and so on ('when in Rome, do what Romans do'!). It is also a good way to know people from around the world without leaving your city, which is really convenient if you are short of money but still willing to know more about the world :)

It's obviusly also a good way to meet interesting people that have a different culture from yours, which is a very mind-broadening experience and allows you to see the world from a different point of view.

Interests

  • culture
  • walking
  • hiking
  • science
  • nature
  • knowledge
  • diving
  • traditions
  • discovering new places
  • local cuisine

Music, Movies, and Books

I can't say I have a particular type of favourite music (I pretty much like all genres) but some of my favourite artists are Lana del Rey, Ellie Goulding, Eluveitie, Parov Stelar, Mago de Oz, Korpiklaani, Tame Impala, Los Punsetes, and some Catalan and Spanish local groups (Txarango, La Raíz, Ebri Knight, Itaca Band...).

I love watching movies, specially those who are classified as 'B-movies' or 'Bad taste movies' for no particular reason... I just find them really funny! Meet the Feebles is one of my favourites. I also enjoy watching movies that involve sci-fi, science, or deep-thinking issues like The Zero Theorem, Donnie Darko, GATTACA, and so on. And, I obviously LOVE all Tarantino films (my favourites are Django and Inglorious Bastards).

My favourite books include Dan Brown's Inferno and Angels and Demons, Roald Dahl's Kiss Kiss and Mathilda, The Book Thief, 1984, Brave New World , I, Robot... The list goes on and on. I am a bookworm!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

During my erasmus, I once stranded in Castiglione della Pescaia (Tuscany, Italy) with my friends Lewis and Julia, because we missed the last bus to Siena... we didn't have money to pay for a hotel that night, so we decided to make a campfire on the beach! The warmth of the fire, the stories, the thoughts and the wine we shared that night turned an awful situation to one of the best nights of my life!

I can say that now I know how to survive if I get stranded on a beach again!

Teach, Learn, Share

As a bioscience student and a person who is aware of the environment and all living organisms that surround us, I know many things about 'biological issues' that concern us. For example: OGMs, endangered species, pollution, bioethical problems related to animal experimentation, astrobiology and possible existence of other forms of life outside planet earth, vaccination, diseases and syndromes of any kind... I would be very glad if I could find someone able to share and discuss all this topics.

I can teach Catalan, Spanish, and English (I've got a C level in all of those languages).

What I Can Share with Hosts

I don't know... a good talk? beers? food? my knowledge? Really, just anything!

Countries I’ve Visited

Bulgaria, China, Dominican Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Portugal

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Italy, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Laura’s full profile.