Franziska Fiehne's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Franziska’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 19 References 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • teacher and traveller
  • University of Leipzig
  • From small village near Erfurt (Thuringia/ GERMANY)
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

fold an origami zoo

ABOUT ME

Finally finished my final exam: goodbye library, goodbye books... Hello WORLD!

in general: I love to travel and get really depressed when I cannot cross the German border at least once a year. and I love the ocean... already miss it...
In summer I like to do bbqs, go camping, hiking, go to festivals with my good friend Nastasia, listen to music and relax by doing all kind of crazy stuff...
I am passionate about nature, my special interest are insects, and I am still trying to memorize those bird noises... in vain...
... I am vegetarian, but not so picky about it, meaning I would eat the food as long as I can pick out the meat... so chili con carne would be quite a challenge...

PHILOSOPHY

everything is going to be allright

there is always room for dessert

Robert Frost:
The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I -
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

my first couchsurfing was in Cardiff, Wales (there are still dragons living in Wales– believe me) and I am still overwhelmed by the hospitality of my hosts. cardiff CS group is amazing! visited Cardiff and the CSers again this September for the amazing Cardiff Cheese Festival.

CS just opens up so many opportunities: meeting the most interesting people from all over the world while surfing, hosting, travelling, relaxing, pubing, coffeeing, language exchanging, city-tour-guiding... love it...

My new apartment will definitely have a CS room or/and couch!

Interests

I enjoy music and love to go to festivals in the summer, love nature and being outdoors, hiking, I am a passionate traveller, love to meet new people and experience other cultures and learn new languages, other interests are COOKING (I can cook some traditional German dish for you), reading, try to write...

  • insects
  • books
  • festivals
  • dining
  • cooking
  • cheese
  • vegetarian
  • reading
  • traveling
  • origami
  • music
  • guitar
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • biology
  • teaching
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Rock, Ska, Punk, 60s... my favourite bands are: The White Stripes, Radiohead, Muse, I am Kloot, The Dresden Dolls, The Doors, The Hives, Patrick Wolf, Die Ärzte (German Band), Elvis, Johnny Cash, THe Ramones...
I also like folk music

Movis: there are so many favourite movies, it is impossible to list them all... depending on my mood I watch fantasy and science fiction movies, horror movies, love movies, action movies and comedies, love Life of Brian
books: unfortunately I was so fed up with scientific universitiy books, that I did not read that many books during the last year even though I would love to read more. love children's literature.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

2011 Jan-March: backpacking New Zealand

2008: sleeping under the open sky in the Hungarian Puszta and watching the sun rise at five in the morning half frozen...

Teach, Learn, Share

I am goign to be a teacher for English and Biology

planning on doing a german as a foreign language certificate after my travels

want to learn to play the guitar and want to learn surfing

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, France, Hungary, Italy, Malta, New Zealand, Russian Federation, Sweden, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    7 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Franziska’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups