Mike Kingston

Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mike’s full profile. It’s free!


  • High school teacher / Musician / Fellow traveller!
  • BA in Philosophy and English literature, Teachers College...
  • From Wellington, New Zealand
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


To gaze into the abyss with a measure of calmness - and to live in love.


I like most things: except the things I love, which I take joy in, and the things I don't like, which I try and understand in some way. Like celery.

I love music and philosophising, swimming in the ocean, sport, sailing, and most of all - people.


Understanding ourselves in relation to our evolutionary history is the main thing going through my mind at the moment...

Trying to reconcile the knowledge of our animality with the feeling of living life from the inside.

Love; taoism; Nietzsche; openness. Attempting to overcome fear in all of its guises.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Our house in Wellinton has many a couch surfer come and go - some official, most unofficial! I'm happy to live in a very 'open', communal kind of house.


As a surfer: Sifting, especially while travelling in Europe during 2006 . And the whole 'go to a party and wake up on someone else's couch' thing, if that counts.

Our house has had several couchsurfers: some from this website, organised by my flatmate.


People / Music / Books / Brewing beer / Sailing...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The Solar eclipse festival in Turkey, March 2006.

Amazing! Friendliest festival in the world, based off mad shared experience - the eclipse, and the crazy storm a couple of days before which destroyed the main stage and turned the whole thing into a crazy mud bath!! Yay.

Tears on the beach for eclipse. Yay.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can probably teach a bit of music - especially guitar, and some theory.

Same with philosophy and literature.. I know how to brew beer, and to sail a boat. Happy to share any knowledge!

I'd like to learn some more crafty things. How to make some cool things. And drawing...

Any opportunity to practice Italian and Spanish is most welcome.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Italy, Thailand, Turkey, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, New Zealand

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Mike’s full profile. It’s free!