Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Miranda’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 191 References 160 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Hungarian, Korean, Swedish
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • writer / translator / journalist
  • eternal student
  • From new york
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

working on screenplays, practicing yoga, exposing myself to new ways of thinking, asking too many questions, taking advantage of autumnal produce, trying to be truly free in the mind ...

és ... magyarul tanulok intenzíven jelenleg, mert a magyar állampolgarságot megkapom ... tehát ha te keresel egy nyelvbarátot, vegye fel a kapcsolatot velem! :D

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

i love having people over. i seriously would host the whole world if i had a flat big enough to do so. the more the merrier! everyone in!

i presided over a sprawling CS experiment from January 2009 until December 2012, during which my housemates and i hosted around 1000 surfers in our Brooklyn flat. some of my best friends are people I met thru CS --

Interests

+languages (különösen magyarul)
+DIY whatever
+aerial circus arts (particularly aerial straps)
+drawing, coloring, and building stuff with other people
+hiking and camping
+exploring the city and planning trips
+local food & seasonal produce
+round-the-clock yoga
+family dinner
+the arctic circle

  • arts
  • coloring
  • diy
  • festivals
  • dining
  • cooking
  • fitness
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • movies
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • hiking
  • camping
  • history
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

says Wittgenstein:
"Die Grenzen meiner Sprache sind die Grenzen meiner Welt."
the limits of my language are the limits of my world.

learning hungarian especially has made me think about this ...

my favorite music? whatever you love ... i'm not even kidding. i enjoy seeing other people engage passionately with art, so play me what you like + let's do it together. besides that, i studied classical piano at various levels of intensity for 17 years so that has a strong influence on what grabs me at the gut level.

my taste in movies is weird. i used to have to watch films for work (!) and i've seen way too many, but ask me for recommendations because there is some incredible stuff out there.

i mostly read the internet. the comments section is my favorite because that's where the truth comes out. if i read books, it's non-fiction. if you can recommend a good piece of fiction, however, i will read it.

i want to read all the great works of russian literature but only after i can understand russian, so who knows when that will happen. but it will happen.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

shared a two-bedroom house with 27 people

Teach, Learn, Share

stuff i know about ...

+i grew up in NY, ask me about it :)
+aerial acrobatics, deep stretching, yoga
+cooking with weird ingredients
+DIY natural healing, herbs, etc.
+spiritual fasting, meditation
+traveling in Myanmar, Atlantic Canada
+German grammar
+hiking in Greenland
+NY art and film worlds! I also covered int'l festivals, so I can tell you about the cinema of Qatar and Kazakhstan, among others

I want to learn...

+the language you speak (különösen akkor, ha ez a nyelv magyarul)!
+eastern european history, particularly hungarian history
+more about fitness, flexibility, yoga, DIY etc.
+how to hitchhike + spend $0 while traveling
+how to cook the food you grew up eating
+anything you're interested in
+all about your hometown/country
+all about you!

What I Can Share with Hosts

i hardly take up any physical space, i will bring you stuff, we can talk for hours and hours or just sit in silence experiencing something new

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Australia, Austria, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Greenland, Iceland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Laos, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Monaco, Morocco, Myanmar, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, Poland, Qatar, South Korea, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Hungary, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    25 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Miranda’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups