Logo orange

Marina Couchman

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 30 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marina Couchman's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 30 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • Arts Management
  • Formal and life
  • From Brisbane/Gold Coast, Australia
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Packing up my life in Toronto, hitting the road from 2 February 2015!

ABOUT ME

It's rather apt that my surname is Couchman ... I enjoy sitting on couches, listening, sharing thoughts and laughing. A few beverages of choice and delicious food to compliment can be rather nice too.

I grew up on the Gold Coast - Australia, and have lived all over Oz in different environments such as the rainforest, cities, deserts and gorgeous small beach side communities.

Having lived in Toronto for the past 2.5 years, and while I've thoroughly enjoyed city living, I'm excited to jump back into travels before possibly heading back to Australia. Living in Toronto, I've loved travelling in Canada out to the east and west coasts, and jumping into the States for long weekends when possible. I'm pretty open to adventures in all shapes and sizes - and seeing the world from my bike is the best.

I've worked in arts management / events in the past, and have been taking a break from this line of work in Canada. Events and connecting with a community is something I revel in.

My travel plans so far include: Pittsburgh - Philadelphia - NYC - Savannah - Memphis - Austin - New Orleans - Mexico - Cuba - and hopping overland through Central America.

PHILOSOPHY

It's waiting.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Making connections.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've spent a bit of time with the Brisbane and Perth CS community - and really enjoying hanging out with everyone that I've met along the way. I was able to host in Karratha, Western Australia, and though I couldn't travel at the time, having the world come to me was the best.

Interests

Going to all kinds of events, seeing live music/comedy, natural therapies, tai chi/yoga, running and riding my bike, road trips, spending time in nature and in/around water, coffee, exploring new places/ideas, breakfast, noticeboards, making things happen.

I'm looking to work on my Spanish before hitting Central America, and would love to stumble through this with you.

Music, Movies & Books

Music: Dan Sultan, My Brightest Diamond, The Zombies, Abbe May, Nick Cave, Sharon Jones, Arcade Fire, Strand of Oaks, Bob Brozman, and anything generally in the genre of Americana, Folk, Rock, Arcadian and from New Zealand.

I'm currently joining a friend's music blog to listen to one 80's album a week for the whole of 2015 http://afyccim.com/80s/

Movies: most recently Birdman - which I thought was smashing - and anything arthouse or an independent release is a-ok with me.

Books: I'm reading a lot of travel books at the moment for my upcoming trip into Central and South America, but aside from this I really enjoy biographies, tales of traveling adventures, philosophy / spirituality.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Why only one?! Highlights include: Swimming in phosphorescence in Jamaica Driving 6,000km half way around Australia Swimming with turtles on the Great Barrier Reef Reaching the very tippy top of New Zealand where the spirits meet the sea

Teach, Learn, Share

A variety of natural therapies items: making body care products as I used to be a remedial massage therapist.

Spots to travel to and what to see in Australia - I've lived in and travelled much of the country, and so enjoyed my my 6,000km road trip across country in 2012.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, Indonesia, Jamaica, New Zealand, Thailand, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Marina Couchman's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile