Julia Bonengel

Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 98% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Clinical Research
  • Nutrition Science
  • From Saarland, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


After a trip is before a trip and there is always a trip to plan. I most likely was a travel agent in an earlier life....

My working field is clinical research. When it comes to science I am a real nerd and I can be excited about the weirdest things. My favorite organ for example is the liver. It does pretty cool things, also have you ever noticed how pretty the pattern of liver cells are? Anyways, this is that one site of me but then there is this other somehow creative site that comes out now and then but lately quiet often. Therefore I am sewing, knitting, designing and printing fabric in my free time. Most likely one of my next prints will be a liver cell pattern...so glad you can combine most of my passions...not wine and knitting though... that just ends up in a mess. I try to meet creative people to get inspired and to start projects together. I founded a small clothing label with a friend in Toronto and at the moment I am looking for new projects.

Friendship means the world to me. I take good care of my friendships and are always very happy and thankful when I make a new true friend. Through CS I have met a lot of people. Some of them became great friends - I cannot imagine living without them anymore.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love travelling, culture and meeting new people.... so couchsurfing fits perfectly to me.

I love the sharing and caring mentality of couchsurfering.


friends, traveling, concerts, sewing, silk screening, soccer, surfing, dancing, art, chilling in the sun, cooking and baking, snorkeling, brunch, drawing, movies, beach, knitting, crochet...

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Wes Anderson, Anders Thomas Jensen and Disney movies. Favorite show ever: Malcolm in the Middle.

Concerts, concerts, concerts!! Hip Hop, RnB, electro, Dancehall and Soca. I love carnival, fetes and jumping on the road.

My favorite books are travel guides and crafting books. Also I like biographies a lot, last one I read was about Che.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Dancing under the star light in the Nylon Pool in Tobago....best night club ever!!

Laura Marling playing a song only for a friend and I under a tree outside of the concert venue. We drove 300 km to see her as support of Andrew Bird but they started earlier than stated on the ticket. When I met her at the merchandise and she said she finished already her set I've told her we only came to see her. So she grabbed her guitar and played for us outside.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to knit or chrochet (very good for killing time at airports!).... mhhh what else, how to cook vegetarian (I was vegetarian for 10 years, not anymore though... I joined the dark site...)

I want to learn more about different cultures, improving my Spanish and my surfing skills, how to make a sauce hollandaise (update: I can teach you now how to make sauce hollandaise)... actually this is a never ending list!

Sharing: some great conversations and a bottle of wine

What I Can Share with Hosts

Some German culture. Usually I bring Jäger and Gummibears and can cook some nice German dishes for you.

I definately going to share some good laughs with you. I love laughing and goofing around.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Barbados, Cameroon, China, Cuba, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Grenada, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Germany, South Africa, Sweden, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    4 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups