Logo orange

Niki Swales

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Niki's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 84 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • Event Rigger
  • Yes please
  • From Australia (continent/town. Same difference)
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Maintain the balance

ABOUT ME

I am a 30 year old female, on tour around and about. No specific plans, but loads of ideas! I'm pretty open and free, happy and full FULL of energy. I'm definatly the sort of person that wants to be EVERYWHERE and see EVERYTHING all at once! And music. I find life a much more enjoyable thing when there is music involved!
I love to be outside - and much prefer summer, and to be warm. (The snow is great! But the smile on my face gets bigger the closer to the equator you find me :)
My eyes are brown, but sometimes they turn green.

PHILOSOPHY

My personal philosophy? Hmmm.. Most people who know me will say that my philosophy is to talk, and to talk a lot! ha!
No, Im not sure really..I guess thats just a cover for my lack of philosophy! haha! Im just rolling with it at the moment!! :)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I just read on another profile.. 'It might sound cheesy, but couchsurfing has changed my life'.
I like that.
So yes, couchsurfing.org has changed my life. It's not something i'm a part of every day - or even every month. But I'm a traveller, and having this website was a new way for me to connect. It's been the common factor in connecting me with so many experiences, places, amazing people, and goddamn awsome buddies!
Actually, ill add sometgung else on here- its actually been a long time since ive used cs (i havent needed too, ive made so many friends thriugh this site in the past!) But im i terested to see if much has changed since it became a .com ..Hopefully ill find out here in barcelona!! :)

Interests

the last few months i have been living in Melbourne, Australia, working as an Event Rigger. I drag myself aroaround the globe working on various projects and build crews for Burning Man. So, basically i gues that means i like my beer warm, my bed dusty, and my socks dirty :p
In what seems like a past life, my more interesting jobs were that of a locksmith, kitchenhand in a Parisian restaurant and a firefighter.
I like to Scuba Dive, but between all the deserts lately, haven't had too much time for that.. ;p
I really like anything to do with being near/on the beach/water.
Oh - and camping? Great idea! Car camping, motorbike camping, drop me in the desert camping, .hiking and camping - however it goes, I'm in! Nothing like a fire, a roof of stars, and too many beers! ahhh! I could be done (and often i am) for months, buried underneath it all with my mates.
I ride a velo.
I opened safes with a mate in Paris in my spare time (legally- just sayin')
I'm into urban exploring. Thoroughly. I could think of nothing better to when i get to a new place.
I ride a moto also - but i've been on the road so long now, i often wonder if ill find the stability to buy another bike any time soon.
Life. Beer. Buddies. And always waking up somewhere new.Perfect.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

In the last few days? I've got one word... cauliflowers!!!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can have conversations with you about the mechanics of locks and keys. I can speak to you about the times I've spent in the Australian fighting bush fires. I can (try to) speak with you in French :) I can tell you about Urban Exploration all around the world. At the moment, I'm full of conversation about Nevada, the desert, and building big fucking art. I've got loads of travel stories, from all over the place.
I can tell you stupid story after stupid story. ('cas trust me when I say this - my life is one stupid story after the next!) Many many things I have to share - but you can be sure all of them will be delivered with a HUGE SMILE and accompanied by epic amounts of stupidity and laughing. Oh, and beer.

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Bolivia, Canada, Costa Rica, Fiji, France, Germany, Indonesia, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Peru, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Belgium, Canada, France, New Zealand, Peru, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Niki's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile