Logo orange

VAL AND MARTIN

Saint-Jean-Port-Joli, Quebec, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see VAL AND MARTIN's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 29 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English, French; learning German
  • 32, Other
  • Member since 2006
  • Valerie is a freelance translator/ed...
  • Val: 2 bachelor degrees (communicati...
  • From Val in La Pocatiere and Martin in Saint-Jean-Port-Joli
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Raising our baby girl and discover the world through her eyes

ABOUT ME

WHERE DO WE LIVE? In a small rural village (3500 people, much more during summer as it is very touristic) on the South shore of the St.Lawrence River.

OÙ HABITEZ-VOUS? Dans un petit village de campagne (3500 personnes, mais beaucoup plus en été puisqu'il y a beaucoup de touristes) le long de la rive sud du fleuve Saint-Laurent.

WHAT DO WE DO FOR A LIVING? Valerie works from home and has a few different jobs : stay-at-home mom, freelance translator/editor, coordinator of a breastfeeding support group and independant representative for two natural products companies.

Martin is a vice-principal in a high school... and that's enough ;)

OÙ TRAVAILLEZ-VOUS? Valérie travaille à la maison et porte plusieurs chapeaux : maman à la maison à temps plein, réviseure-traductrice pigiste, coordonnatrice d'un groupe d'entraide en allaitement, représentante de produits naturels. Martin est directeur adjoint dans une école secondaire et c'est bien suffisant.

ANY KIDS? Yes, a 3-year-old daughter. Babies and kids of all ages are welcome in our house!

AVEZ-VOUS DES ENFANTS? Nous avons une petite fille de 3 ans. Les bébés et enfants de tous âges sont les bienvenus chez nous!

ANY FOOD RESTRICTIONS? We are pescetarian, e.g. we eat vegetarian most of the time, but we also sometimes eat fish and seefood. We don't eat any other meat (red meat, pork, chicken, etc.). We also don't drink any alcohol. Our daughter is intolerant to eggs so we just don't eat eggs for the moment.

DES RESTRICTIONS ALIMENTAIRES? Nous sommes pescovégétariens, c'est-à-dire que la plupart de nos repas sont végétariens, mais nous mangeons aussi parfois du poisson et des fruits de mer. Nous ne consommons aucune autre sorte de viande (viande rouge, porc, poulet, etc.). De plus, nous ne buvons jamais d'alcool. Notre fille est intolérante aux oeufs, alors nous cuisinons sans oeufs pour le moment.

PHILOSOPHY

Travel far, dream big, live well.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We both helped organizing the Scavenger hunt for a Quebec gathering a few years ago. We also make our best to improve rural CouchSurfing in Quebec, making it known both to travelers and to potential hosts. We'd really like to show our region to more couchsurfers, because many just skip it. They don't know what they're missing! ;)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We've hosted a probably more than 30 guests from CouchSurfing and Hospitality Club, and each experience was just wonderful!

Interests

traveling,learning about foreign cultures, reading,photography, learning new languages, being outdoor, playing board games, learning about paranormal things, healthy food, medicinal plants... Sports: Martin is a sportive guy and like to play any sport. He especially likes judo, hockey, baseball, golf and swimming Valerie is a bit less sportive but enjoys hiking, yoga, bicycling and kayaking (but not very experimented with kayaks, just did it on some very calm rivers). les voyages, les cultures étrangères, la lecture, la photographie, les langues, les activités de plein air, les jeux de société, le paranormal, la saine alimentation, les plantes médicinales... Sports: Martin est très sportif et aime tous les sports. Il aime particulièrement le judo, le hockey, le base-ball, la natation et le golf. Valérie aime la randonnée pédestre, le yoga, le vélo et le kayak (mais pas très expérimentée, seulement sur des rivières très calmes).

Music, Movies & Books

Quebec music : Tricot Machine, Les Cowboys Fringants, Coeur de pirate... We also really likes classic, trad and folk music. Books : almost everything, each book is a world to discover! Movies : Martin has particular tastes (Shawn of the dead, Team America World Police, Kung Pow, Napoleon Dynamite, Princess Bride...) but also likes many others! Valerie especially likes movies that "makes her travel".

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Meeting each other... and our wedding + honeymoon are fond memories. Learning we were expecting a baby, just before Christmas... the nicest gift we could receive! Raising our daughter is absolutely priceless.

Teach, Learn, Share

We like to share about local cultures, local cooking, local products, history of our countries, local traditions... well, anything local! When we travel, we really like to go in small places, small villages, to feel the real spirit of a country.

Valerie can teach you some French and Martin can inform you very well on Quebec politics and history. We can also give you some tips and recipes about vegetarianism.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, France, Indonesia, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see VAL AND MARTIN's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile