Logo orange

Valeria Calderoni

Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Valeria's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 4 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Italian; learning German, Spanish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • MA Graduate in International Affairs
  • MA in Public Social and Political Co...
  • From Faenza, (near Bologna-Ravenna) Italy
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I'm trying to get to do my dream job in Berlin, and that's proving to be a really challenge...I would also like to get to learn German well, to become more energetic, self-confident and imaginative, and to write a science fiction book!

PHILOSOPHY

I believe that you can live accordingly to your own moral and ethic principles without belonging to a religion, and without believing in some sort of reward of punishment system; I realized that I spent too much of my time being unappreciative of the good moments I had so I am trying to be more positive. And most of all: memento mori!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I haven't participated much since I first registered I must say. Hopefully I will get to do more in the near future :)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

None yet. Wherever I lived, I very rarely had enough room to host people so far. I believe CS is a great way to meet interesting people and I would love to try it out soon.

Interests

traveling, reading books, watching movies, playing and listening to music, rock shows, meeting new people, international politics, philosophy, sociology, foreign languages and cuisine

Music, Movies & Books

some of my favourite books: Nausea- Sartre; The Importance of Being Earnest, The Picture of Dorian Gray-Oscar Wilde; Underworld- Don De Lillo; The Winter of Our Discontent, East of Eden- John Steinbeck; Crime and Punishment, Notes From Underground- Dostoevskij; La cousine Bette- Honorè de Balzac; Sandman, Black Orchid, American Gods- Neil Gaiman; I Am Legend- Richard Matheson; The House of the Seven Gables- Nathaniel Hawthorne.

my favourite music: David Bowie, The Cult, The Jesus and Mary Chain, Danzig, Sisters of Mercy, Darkthrone, Electric Wizard, Slayer, Motörhead, Front 242, Misfits, Damned, Siouxsie & The Banshees, The Cure are some of my favorite bands.

as to movies: I really like horror and sci-fi movies, a lot of classics, black and white movies, almost anything by Roger Corman and Ingmar Bergman, Mario Monicelli, Lars von Trier, Polanski and Cronenberg, Monty Python & Mel Brooks for a good laugh; my favorite actors are Vincent Price, Robert Mitchum, Christopher Walken, and Mads Mikkelsen. Lately, I really liked Jagten, Melancholia and Cosmopolis.

I read a lot of books, mostly history books and classics; some of my favorite books are Dostoevskji's The Idiot, Sartre's Nausea,The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Kundera, The Master and Margaret by Bulgakov. The best books I've read in the past few months are Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by J.Safran Foer and The Tender Bar by J.R. Moehringer.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Playing gigs with my ex-boyfriend's band in the coolest venues in San Francisco, while I was an exchange student there years ago, was pretty awesome.
Wandering all night around Las Vegas with the LVPD Gang Unit to interview gang members while they were being arrested to write an article for the Oakland Tribune was crazy.
Scuba diving in the Canary Islands was gorgeous, I wish I could do it again.
But spending time with my friends and family never ceases to amaze me, it is simply the most wonderful thing I'll get to do in my lifetime I think.

Teach, Learn, Share

I guess I can teach you how to cook Italian food, how to speak Italian, the basics of guitar and piano, the basics of contemporary history and that's it for now. If you want to make me happy, you can show me how to play chess, something about meditation, how to cook great Thai food, or if you're German you can just be patient enough to have a conversation with me in your language so that I can improve and that would be great.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, France, Greece, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Germany, Italy, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Valeria's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile