Paul  Slattery's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Paul ’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, French, German, Japanese
  • 67, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Eating, sleeping, travelling, taking photographs, growing...
  • University of life
  • From West London
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

telling stories and making people laugh

ABOUT ME

I live with my lovely wife in leafy west London, a few minutes walk from the nearest pub, and also a few minutes walk to my vegetable garden. Not a bad year this year, potatoes, carrots, runner beans, french beans, broad beans, onions, garlic, broccoli, cabbage, peppers, cucumbers, beetroot, pumpkins coming soon. There is always something to eat. In the winter we will have cavallo nero, sprouts, and purple broccoli.

PHILOSOPHY

Don't like anything with narrow confines. Like the list of countries from which you can choose right here on this site. I didn't see Tibet or Okinawa listed which is a pity because as far as I am concerned they are as much separate countries as any other. I've learnt that it doesn't matter where you go in the world, people desire the same things and if you're good to them they'll be good to you back. I've drunk red sorghum whisky with boatmen on the Yangzi River in China, and sourmash whisky with cattlemen in Texas and had a great time with both crowds.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

In the 60's and 70's when I did a lot of hitch hiking, couch surfing was called "crashing" so it's nothing new really except that now people meet via the internet. Back then you would meet your hosts on the road, at a concert, in a bar, by personal reference, wherever. I met loads of people who would pick you up on the road and give you a meal and somewhere to stay for the night. Never forgotten those times and I have returned those favours over the years whenever I could. I don't see hitch hikers these days, but it was a great way of getting around.

Interests

Countryside walks, yoga, pubs, music, football (soccer), growing vegetables, looking for wild mushrooms, cooking, eating out. music, parties, barbecues, travel, meeting people, photography..........

  • photography
  • concerts
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • partying
  • pub crawls
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • eating out
  • socializing
  • music
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • soccer

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Point Blank, The Big Sleep, To Have and Have Not, Tampopo, The Ladykillers, Seven Samurai, Red Sorghum (Hong Gao Liang) King of Hearts..........
Music: Link Wray, Lyres, Sonics, Fleshtones, Ramones, Pogues, MC5, Clash, Hendrix, Thee Milkshakes, Thee Mighty Caesars, Len Price 3, Mooney Suzuki..........

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Seeing the Ramones play New Year's Eve 1977 at London's Rainbow maybe, or hitch hiking from Chengdu in China to Lhasa, a few thousand km at least, back in March 1986. Maybe the first sunrise of the Millenium from the summit of Mount Sinai was quite special too.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am very fond of horticulture. I grow enough vegetables to keep myself and my partner for 8 months of the year. You just cannot beat contact with the soil to make you feel good, and it is a fantastic common bond which transcends language. If I spot a veg garden on my travels i just have to stop and ask the owner questions about how they grow this or that. Wherever you grow there are people growing veg in different ways, and it all tastes absolutely fantastic.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, India, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kyrgyzstan, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkmenistan, United Kingdom, United States, Uzbekistan

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, New Zealand, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Paul ’s full profile. It’s free!