Meadow Martell's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 28% response rate
  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Meadow’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 16 References 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 69, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • self employed health consultant, baker, gardener, grandmo...
  • Some college and a lot of eclectic life experiences.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Reverence and respect for all living things and the earth.

ABOUT ME
I am interested in learning from all kinds of people. Family, friends, community, that is what keeps me together. Sharing meals and life stories reminds me that we have so much more in common than our often imagined differences . Some would say I am an old hippy (what the heck is that!) but I like to think of myself as a progressive liberal. At home I am a country girl at heart. I have a 7 acre farm with chickens and gardens that I love to share with my cool grandkids whenever I can get them here. And then I also really love to travel, see new places and meet all kinds of new people. I work from home so that gives me some flexibility.

Life is ephemeral and it is important to love each other everyday. Big lesson in adjustment for me in 2015- my long time partner, friend and husband Barry died unexpectedly early in 2015. So I am spending some time staying open to what the universe has next for me. That seems to be including a lot of travel.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I love dreaming and scheming about traveling to all different kinds of places. CS allows me to meet and learn from a wide variety of people from many different places.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've couch surfed in S. Korea, Australia and a little bit in the US. If I'm thinking of going somewhere it is one of the options I check out, along with hostels.

Interests

gardening, traveling, hiking, rafting, camping, family (3 joyous grand daughters)hiking, reading, movies, singing, baking, potlucks, new adventures- the list goes on and on.

  • chickens
  • singing
  • dining
  • baking
  • gardening
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • guitar
  • hiking
  • camping

Music, Movies, and Books

Wow! this is the one that stumps me. I'm pretty eclectic on all accounts.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Visited the Roman ruins, Leptis Magna, many times while living in Libya when I was in high school and my dad was stationed at Wheelus Air Base.

Alaska in 2015!

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm good in a kitchen and I'm a master food preserver. So food preparation and storage is something I can teach. I would love to learn how to play a musical instrument well to share experiences with other muscicians. I played the flute in high school and dabbled with a bass guitar. Drumming is something I think I could learn. What I love to share- joie d' vivre!

What I Can Share with Hosts

A bed, warm shower, good company, good food if the timing is right.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Canada, Costa Rica, Mexico, Nepal, South Korea, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Japan, Libya, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Meadow’s full profile. It’s free!