Anna Wu's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Anna’s full profile.


  • 32 references 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, English; learning French, Japanese, Spanish
  • 41, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Running Asian Fusion Cooking Classes in Auckland at the m...
  • Studied Tourism and Hotel Management and English Literatu...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Traveling around in Australia and NZ from early May to the end of Oct in 2014 :)))))


I have joined the CS since last Spring and it has been a great experience!

I have always loved to travel but never experienced meeting new friends through traveling and staying at a surfer's place, this is all new to me and very know that I can be able to travel more and make more friends through couch surfing is such a great news to me!!!

My last time in OZ was 2013. It was a 3 weeks holiday in Australia and HK, have had such an amazing time there! I was in Melbourne for the food and wine festival, visited some really amazing vine yards, drove all the way from Mornington Peninsula to the Great Ocean Road and the Yarra Valley, so much fun!! It was reallyyyy nice to catch up with some old friends who are now all settled in Melbourne too!!

I am going to travel around in OZ and NZ for 6 months and seeking for a place to settle down and this is going to be a massive change to me in my life. I have travelled, worked and lived abroad none stop in the past 10 years but wasn't doing it entirely on my own so moving overseas and wanting to get settled down there is a huge decision for me to make and without knowing what is going to happen is all a bit scary but at the same time very exciting!!! I have always liked a little bit adventure and challenge so I am quite confident that I will just be doing fine...well this is going to be another big step in my life and I really look forward to it!!! : )

I have prepared to leave for this trip for quite some time and finally I am going. I am leaving for my trip in 4 days time and I am getting very excited and nervous about it now!!! But I know it will be so much fun!!!

Thank you for spending time to get to know about me and I look forward to meet you during my travel and hear your stories too!!


I want this world to be a better world, that people share true love to each other and help the ones with need. Without love, the world is meaningless, we all need help at some points so don't be shy to give a hand to the ones who are in trouble around you.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


To meet up, to host or to surf. I have been hosting since last Spring in 2013 and now I am going to start my travel in Australia and NZ from mid May to late Oct so I will not be able to host for some time. Once I settle down again, neither in Australia or NZ…. I will see what can I do for hosting again. I will keep it updated. For now, I look forward to do some great surfs and meeting up with as many new people as I can.:)))


I have been hosting in my hometown Qingdao in China and I have surfed a couple of times in China too so far it has been an amazing experience to me. I recommend you to try it yourself to find out more! :D


Besides traveling, I love food and art. Photography and painting are my two big passions, unfortunately I didn't get much chance to practice on these after I have returned back to China in the past two years.

When I first started photography and painting while I was in India for the 3 and half years, I have done plenty of shooting and painting, and that was one of the most memorable things have happened to me in my life.I love to capture street motions, portraits, and beautiful sceneries...also particular into food photography.

Happily, I have continued with my passion of working with food in China and I first started working with food since my last year in Delhi, I have started working as a cooking instructor and catering for parties...In Delhi, I did Chinese cuisine, and from China, I started working on fusion asian, Thai, Indian, Vietnamese, Malaysian etc...I love to cook and share the happiness with family and friends through me it's such a wonderful thing to have to get together to cook and eat...: ) I do cook other cuisines too like French and Italian...I love all kinds of food from the world, if you ever want to get in touch with me to exchange some recipes, please do... : ) I am going to work on a blog of my recipes when I have some more time.

Exercises and dancing is another big thing to me. I have had so much fun at bollywood dancing classes in India. Also I have learned to love yoga since then, however I am still not that flexible and still working on it... : P

Whenever the weather is good, I am always attempted to go out for a walk, enjoy the sunshine, have a coffee or go for a hike...jogging and dancing classes are my regular routine in daily keeps me positive in mind and happy in body....: ) I can't live without some good music too. Going to a concert, art galleries or theater to watch a comedy show or a play is always a nice treat to myself and if you ever ask me if I want to join you for that, I never say no to that. : )

Languages, I have studied a bit Japanese, Spanish and French in the past but pity that I never got the chance to keep them going...I would love to be able to master 5 languages in my life, I got two now so still 3 more to go...perhaps French, Spanish and Italian. : )

  • arts
  • books
  • theater
  • photography
  • concerts
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • bollywood dancing
  • education
  • dining
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • wine
  • coffee
  • yoga
  • instructor
  • partying
  • news
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • painting
  • music
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • surfing
  • teaching
  • freelancing
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

I love movies but not a big fan of books so I am working on it. I do have lots of recipes books but I know that doesn't count. Haha. I do enjoy a good book from time to time but I really should do some more reading so if you ever have a good book to recommend, please feel free to leave a message. : ) I like all kinds of music and always keen to discover something new ...I love exotic dances and always had the urge to learn how to play African drum - Djembe, so hopefully one day I will get the chance!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Too many...we can share that when we meet...: D

Teach, Learn, Share

The long term mission of mine in life is to capture as many friendship and as much of the world through my camera along all my travels, and to hold a few exhibitions of my travel photos and be a freelance artist, creative more art work through my paint with my imagination of the world...and last but not least, is continually to give cookery lessons no matter where I am and be an excellent cooking instructor and publish my own recipe book one I am always happy to share, to teach and to learn with all these skills I need and I have....: ) Also I would like to get participated with charity work with children...hopefully someday I can start working on a little charity project with my skills to help with more children in the world who are suffering from diseases and help them to have a better life with better education and a brighter future...

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, China, France, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, France, India, New Zealand, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • 4 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Anna’s full profile.