Bas's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Bas’s full profile.


  • 75 references 53 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Spanish, Ukrainian
  • 42, Male
  • Member since 2005
  • Web person
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Please read my profile first. Also I do not respond to requests in Russian or Ukrainian.

PLUS do yourself a favor and instead of supporting the greedy bastards running this commercial dump, check out some other hospex sites that shalt not be named here - because well, capitalism.


It's hard to define oneself, but I guess it's needed to shape some expectation when you have people who want to come and mushroom on your floor. Oh well.

I'm a programmer / website person / things on the internet person by day. I'm a Dutchie living in Ukraine. I'm not the most extrovert of folks, but I do like socializing, talking, meeting new people and experiencing new things. I like to enjoy moments, whatever they are. A lot of people went before you liking me for some reason, so it's cool.


Everybody should live their live the way they want to without hurting other people. Nobody should live in poverty.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I keep couches occupied, sharing my experiences, thoughts and all those other annoying things. I fix your network, and other computer misery. I can cook (vegetarian!) although nobody ever asks. Oh - and I host.


Couchsurfing whereever possible to get to know new people and new places. To seek out new lifes and new civilizations...

Hosted many peoples at my homes ( Netherlands, Ukraine, elsewhere )

Co-organised Zoetermeer NY-event 2009 and HC-meeting The Hague in 2005.

Has been on tons of CS-meetings, like the annual Berlin Beach Camp and the new-years camps half a dozen times.

My guest experience reaches from Netherlands to Chile and all countries in between. I'll never forget my hosts and the amazing experiences I had surfing in all those different places.


Music, traveling, hanging out - partying, politics, literature, geekstuff, geocaching, hiking, the outdoors, culture, discussions ( yeah! ).

I'm very interested in all the things I do not know yet.

  • arts
  • culture
  • books
  • literature
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • vegetarian
  • walking
  • partying
  • boating
  • politics
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • communications
  • languages
  • hitchhiking
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Lo-fi Rock, Electro, Noise, Metal, Hardcore, Alternative. From silent to stuff that makes lots of noise. Think Herman Dune, Otto von Schirach, Eels, Sick of it all, Refused, the metals, the blues, the weird. Lesbians on Ecstasy or Napalm Death.

Books: I love good literature, but also read a lot of non-fiction mostly on social and political topics. Recently I'm binging on old books. I read a book every few days, then take a break and return.

Movies are also being watched. Mostly on the side of indie / documentary / interesting stuff. I can recommend some cinemas here in Kyiv showing original movies in foreign languages. Plus series ( favs' are Battlestar, The Wire, Twin peaks )

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Maybe the most amazing is the notion that indeed everywhere in the world there are nice and utterly cool people you can relate to, travel and stay with and see the world is not the dangerous and antisocial place a lot of people are talking about - but not traveling to.

- Walking from The Hague to Berlin
- Living in Berlin
- Boat hitchhiking on the Carribean sea
- 18 months bouncing around South-America
- Moved and feeling at home in Ukraine
- Served in City council

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to make websites, how to use social media, how to cook vegetarian, how to find geocaches, how to curse in Dutch ( en Haags ). A bunch of languages somewhat good or worse. Everything else, I still have to learn. Although I have an opinion for better or worse on a lot of subjects.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Aruba, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, Moldova, Netherlands Antilles, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey, Ukraine, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands, Ukraine

Old School Badges

  • 16 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Bas’s full profile.

My Groups