Benjamin Schlegel's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 5 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Benjamin’s full profile.


  • 60 references 59 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Swiss German; learning French, Italian
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Postdoc Political Science
  • PhD in Political Science
  • From St. Gallen, St. Gallen, Switzerland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

NOTE FOR SUMMER 2024: I won't be able to host from June 26 to August 25. Feel free to send me reqeusts for after August 25.


to learn more about the earth and change it to the better


Ich habe 2022 mein Doktorat in Politikwissenschaften an der Universität Zürich abgeschlossen. Ich bin sozial, hilfsbereit und wissensgierig. Die Freizeit verbringe ich oft mit Wandern oder Freiwilligenarbeit. Ich trinkt fast nie Alkohol und rauche nicht. An Couchsurfing finde ich cool, dass man interessante Menschen aus der ganzen Welt kennen lernen kann.

I completed my PhD in Political Science at the University of Zurich in 2022. I am social, helpful and eager for knowledge. I often spend my free time hiking or volunteering. I almost never drink alcohol and don't smoke. What I find cool about Couchsurfing is that you can meet interesting people from all over the world.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Finding places to stay when I travel to meet new people and hosting people from all over the world.


Ich bin politisch sehr aktiv und engagiere mich für eine offene Welt. Ich reise sehr gerne um andere Kulturen und Orte kennen zu lernen. Ich wandere sehr gerne und auch sehr oft und filme diese seit 2021 auch und stelle sie auf YouTube ( Ich fotografiere/Filme gerne und singe in einem Chor, wo wir unter anderem Brahms Requiem und die Johannes Passion aufgeführt haben. Sonst programmiere ich gerne Webseite. Ich bringe gerne anderen Leute Sachen bei und liebe deshalb auch meinen Beruf, wo ich unter anderem Studierende an der Uni unterrichte.

I am politically very active and committed to an open world. I like to travel very much to get to know other cultures and places. I like to hike very much and also very often and film these since 2021 also and put them on YouTube ( I like to take pictures/film and sing in a choir where we have performed Brahms Requiem and St. John Passion among others. Otherwise I like programming websites. I like to teach other people things and that's why I love my job, where I teach students at the university among other things.

  • singing
  • photography
  • politics
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • teaching
  • reading books
  • programming
  • bicyling

Music, Movies, and Books

the sound of the heart (der Klang der Herzens)
music: classic, pop, rock, new age and others
books: "der Schwarm" (Frank Schätzing); "Der Hundertjährige der aus dem Fenster stieg und verschwand" (Jonas Jonasson); all books of Francois Lelord

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Diving at the rainbow reef in Fiji, climbing Mt. Rinjani (3726) in Indonesia and watching the sunrise from the top, swimming with dolphins in Kaikoura in New Zealand, walking through rainforest in K'Gari in Australia, doing beautiful hikes in Switzerland, meeting amazing people from all over the world

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you something about photography, German, webdesign, politics, hiking, Statistics/R and something about Switzerland

What I Can Share with Hosts

Nice talks, stories, and I can teach you different stuff

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Kosovo, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Switzerland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Benjamin’s full profile.