Bridget Kramer's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 9 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Bridget’s full profile.

Overview

  • 2 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Gadabout
  • Bachelor of Arts - Music & History majors - Universit...
  • From Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

In avoidance of a real job

ABOUT ME

I polished off a Bachelor of Arts in 2010, and instead of searching for a graduate position like any sane person would do, I decided to take the pennies I'd saved from pouring beers with me for 6 months in South America. I attempted to learn Spanish in Buenos Aires for 2 months, and spent the rest of the time travelling in Argentina, Brazil, Uruguay, Peru, Bolivia & Colombia, practising the little Spanish I had learnt and meeting all sorts of freaks along the way.

I returned from this adventure in March 2011, was back in Australia (surfing my mate's couches) until the end of April. I then went to Thailand and taught English to school kids for 5 months in Lopburi. Then I travelled in Vietnam and Cambodia. Obviously, I loathe travelling and really enjoy staying in one place for extended periods of time.

I'm going to Europe for 2 months this year (being 2013) in June-August, so might be looking for some couches then!

I keep a blog, so if you are in anyway interested in the happenings of a TEFL teacher in Thailand, click your ass to http://bridgetovertravelledwaters.tumblr.com/

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've met a few people through couch surfing while I was in South America, and none of them turned out to be creeps, which I was thankful for. Hope to continue this streak.

But also, I don't want to date you.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Well... I like couches. I spend some time on them. But haven't participated in any CouchSurfing as yet, other than meeting fellow couch surfers for a drink, or a wander.

Interests

Travel (duh), Popular culture (of any country/region, especially pop music), Music in general, People

  • arts
  • culture
  • beer
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • music
  • piano
  • violin
  • surfing
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

MOVIES: MGM musicals from the 50s, anything with Gene Kelly, anything that makes me laugh, not into action movies

MUSIC: a WIDE variety of things.. some classical, a lot of pop music from the 1950s to now, Eurovision entries! And various types of world music..

BOOKS: 1984, Animal Farm, Virgin Suicides, Great Gatsby, The Beach, Little Women, Harry Potter series

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I spontaneously decided to go to Rosario, Argentina (leaving from Buenos Aires) with a friend I met through couch surfing. We arrived at night, and there were no beds for us anywhere so we wandered around all night. Nothing the next day either. All we could do was get a bus right back to Buenos Aires. Full story here: http://www.getjealous.com/getjealous.php?action=showdiaryentry&diary_id=1845644&go=bridgetkramer

visited 12 states (5.33%)

Teach, Learn, Share

I play the piano, violin, and cello.. I also know the lyrics to a lot of pop songs - very useful, I assure you! I'm also about to teach English to kids in Thailand, so apparently I can do that.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Fiji, Peru, Thailand, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, Australia, Thailand

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Bridget’s full profile.

My Groups