CathGong Blakey's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 33% response rate
  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see CathGong’s full profile.

Overview

  • 42 references 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Malay
  • 42, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • environmental education
  • BSc Environmental Science
  • From Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Cultivating ecological sustainability in the Illawarra.

PHILOSOPHY

I'm happy to be of this Earth.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I host, and I travel.

Lately, my partner logs in to CS much more regularly than I do. The best way to get in touch is through my partner Paul:
https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/paul-spencer-1

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've hosted, surfed and made great friends through meet-ups in my hometown.

Interests

Where to start? I love fresh local food and sharing it with friends. Cycling, being in/on/by oceans and rivers (diving, snorkling, kayaking, swimming, sailing, canyoning etc), community singing, and positive social change.

  • singing
  • dining
  • yachting
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • kayaking
  • scuba diving
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • rivers
  • parenting

Music, Movies, and Books

Contemporary folk is my favourite. When travelling I enjoy playing the penny whistle, and now I'm back in Australia, the piano and clarient just for fun. I love reading books - travel books, novels, historical fiction and for the odd bit of escapist chic lit, social conditioning aside :p.
Movies can be fun and enlightening, but most days I'd rather watch a nice sunset.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I love overlanding, enjoying the adventure of avoiding stinky, boring, polluting planes. In 2006/7 I traveled from Johannesburg (South Africa) back to Wales overland (up the east coast of Africa, then around the Med through the Middle East and across Europe). In 2008/9 from Old Mid Wales to New South Wales (across europe, through the middle east to India and then yacht-hitching through SE Asia to Australia).

Teach, Learn, Share

I love compost toilets (and don't mind doing the maintenance jobs).

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bulgaria, Egypt, Ethiopia, Fiji, France, India, Iran, Jordan, Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, Netherlands, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Syrian Arab Republic, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vanuatu

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Malaysia, New Zealand, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • 6 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see CathGong’s full profile.

My Groups