Elly Ruiters's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login almost 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Elly’s full profile.


  • 43 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Swahili
  • 37, Female
  • Member since 2005
  • Health Care
  • College Graduate
  • From Saskatoon, SK, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Find a job in International Development


Finally getting back into things with Couchsurfing after work life took over for a while, excited to see whats new and who is still around! I would love to see the CS community grow again here in Saskatchewan, especially Saskatoon! Currently working towards a career in International Development and have worked 5 years in health care also

I obviously love to travel since I am here! I travel when I have time and when I can afford it.
In highschool in lived in Germany for three months and also for 15months in austria fter highschool as an Au Pair. I love meeting new people and am always up for hanging out and making new friends. I may be a little quiet or shy when I first meet someone but totally open up when you get to know me. I can be a dork and goofy and love to laugh and joke and just have fun. I also love to sit and have those more deep conversations sometimes.
Trying to live my life one day at a time and I am looking forward to each day that is coming!


Why do I live life? Because it was given to us and we should make the best of it on this earth as we can. I cherish each morning i'm given. Because we're lucky to have it.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Country Ambassador for Canada
Welcoming new member and helping them find their way around
Planned meets in various countries/cities


Carolina Ropero Rojas (in Linz Austria)
Bruno Boulandet (in Paris France)
MissMado (in Paris France)
Simone Silvi (in Rome Italy)
--(in Munich)
Kernel Lids (in Linz Austria)
--(in vienna)
Cari Laythorpe (in Southampton England)
Trent Collins (in London England)
JJOOEE (in Vienna Austria)
Energia (in Naples Italy)
Yorbcbud (Tappen BC, canada wide meet)
Kevin Reid(Canmore BC Canada)

Nicolas Morissette (from Montreal Canada)
Kevin Reid(From Vernon BC)
Wolfix(from Linz Austria)

I've organized a meet in Munich and attended a few such as in london, linz and vienna. Also put on the First Canada Wide camping meet Aug 2008!
Met up with many wonderful CS members and am proud to say some of my best friends in the world, i met through CS.
I really feel honoured by the friendships i've formed with all the people i have encountered here.


Music, Art, Photography, Travel, I play the violin. Well..It's in Canada :p I will again when i'm back home! I want to make friends while living here, I love photography. It's more for fun though. I have heo urge to take salsa or ballroom dancing classes..

  • arts
  • photography
  • dancing
  • ballroom dancing
  • traveling
  • music
  • violin
  • camping
  • au-pair

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Oldies, country, love learning about new music in cultures

Movies: I watch a lot of movies when I'm on call working so a bit of everything

Books: I love to read, cannot list genres or books there are so many but a couple I really enjoyed are:
The Zahir- Paulo Coelho
The Historian
The Shadow of the Wind- Carlos Ruiz Zafon
The colour purple- Alice Walker
Memoirs of a Geisha
Cold Mountain(the book's really good)
Family Pose- Dean Hughes
The people's Act of Love

dan Brown, Tamora Pierce, JK Rowlings, james Patterson to name a couple authors who all around write good books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I spent six weeks in Kenya in 2015 and it was the most joy I have experienced in a very long time and in the most unexpected places

Teach, Learn, Share

I want to learn Spanish and automechanics.
Something I can share.. Probably my appreciation of being alive. I am of a lucky few in this day and age it seems :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Faroe Islands, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Nepal, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Canada, Germany

Old School Badges

  • 17 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Elly’s full profile.

My Groups