Gemma Atkinson's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 8 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gemma’s full profile.

Overview

  • 16 references 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Russian, Swedish
  • 40, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Post-doctoral researcher in Molecular Evolution
  • Masters and PhD in bioinformatics
  • From Richmond, North Yorkshire, UK
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To live a fulfilled, experience-packed life, shared with new and old friends.

ABOUT ME

I'm a Yorkshire lass born and bred (..strong in the arm, thick in the head, as the saying goes!). After spending two years in Uppsala, Sweden, I moved to Tartu, Estonia in Sept 2010. I live here with my partner Vasili. We're both researchers in Tartu university, working on protein function. I work on it from the evolutionary perspective and Vasili from the biochemical side of things. This is Vasili's profile: http://www.couchsurfing.org/people/vasilih/ please don't be scared by his monstrous profile pic!

We're intrigued by this couch surfing lark! We've hosted loads, and surfed in New York and Bologna. We're keen to travel and meet couch surfers in other parts of the world.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We've participated so far by hosting, surfing, attending events and spreading the word!

Interests

I'm outdoorsy. I'm into hiking, skiing, snowboarding, cycling, camping. I also love traveling and exploring new cities, preferably with a map, though "maps are for losers" according to Vasili!

My happiest times are spent hanging out with fun people who I can relax and have a giggle with, especially over a beer! Add to that some sunshine and a BBQ and I'm in heaven!

  • beer
  • bbq
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • rock climbing
  • cartography

Music, Movies, and Books

I like alternative, quirky movies. My all time fave is The Life Aquatic.

Alternative music floats my boat too... Weezer, The Smiths, Sigur Ros, Arcade Fire, Gogol Bordello are among my favourites.

Books... well i guess the ones i enjoy most have a bit of surrealism or intrigue. Iain Banks and Haruki Murakami spring to mind.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The most amazing thing I've experienced is climbing up to and even going inside a glacier in Norway.

Kayaking to a deserted island out in the Stockholm archipelago and camping overnight was also pretty awesome.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Russian Federation, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Estonia, Sweden, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Gemma’s full profile.

My Groups