Özkal özsoy's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Özkal’s full profile.


  • 37 references 34 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Turkish; learning Italian
  • 52, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Design & Engineering
  • PhD. Industrial Design Engineering
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm an ordinary guy who likes to meet with new people, see new places.

I've hosted around 50-60 people so far and was hosted by 5, I still keep in touch with all my hosts and some of my guests. I used to be much more active in CSing. Nowadays not so active due to work and economic conditions. Hope to be more active again.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Meeting local people and spending time with them makes travelling a completely different and amazing experience. It is i think also the best way to have lasting international friendships. And its one of the biggest aims of me being here.


Travel, cycling, designing and building things.
Watching space documentaries and movies.
dreaming about tropical rainforest treks and many other things.

Music, Movies, and Books

I try to play my cornet and try to take my pocket trumpet everywhere i go. :D. I have a collection of mp3s that evolve in years that i take with me to places, listen to while cycling to work and back. I watch
space movies, movies related to oceans and underwater, submarines, travel movies, adventures in foreign lands. And other childish movies, never managed to grow mature.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've sailed from europe to asia in a 2.5meter sailboat I've built myself from 2 sheets of plywood. :D
Then in the same day returned back from asia to europe, it was a bit difficult though, due to strong current.
Might tell the details later :D

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahrain, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Laos, Philippines, Poland, Singapore, Sweden, Thailand, United Arab Emirates

Countries I’ve Lived In

Thailand, Turkey

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Özkal’s full profile.

My Groups