Idzie Desmarais's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 5 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Idzie’s full profile.

Overview

  • 3 references 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Cooker of tasty food, writer of non-fiction.
  • Unschooled
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Cooking, sharing, writing, learning, living.

ABOUT ME

I'm currently really into food (growing, harvesting, obtaining, cooking, eating, sharing, and pretty much anything else to do with it), with a focus on tasty vegetarian and whole foods; radical sustainability and small scale farming; unschooling and freedom-based education; feminism; and spending lots of time either visiting friends in rural areas, reading fantasy novels, digging in the garden, or trying to learn guitar. I'm an introvert who loves people, and I strive to be genuine and compassionate, while also not taking shit from people. Incidentally, those are traits I really appreciate in others, as well!

Some labels I sometimes choose to stick on myself: unschooler, anarchist, feminist, queer, vegetarian, writer, dreamer, animist, radical, hippie...

PHILOSOPHY

Striving to find a balance between compassion and kindness for everyone I come across, while holding people accountable for the oppressive stuff they say or do. Living with the Earth in a truly symbiotic relationship, respecting the land and it's human and non-human occupants. I have great faith in the basic goodness and capacity for cooperation and kindness in humans, if only we can re-discover the various ways of being, living, and interacting with our surroundings that we once knew (as well as coming up with some new ways)!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Hosted once, and it was a great experience! Hoping to do lots more hosting and surfing in the future...

Interests

Unschooling and freedom-based education, alternative education, cooking, organic farming, subsistence farming, radical sustainability, rural living, folk music, feminism, sexuality and gender, cooperative decision making, intentional communities, blogging, non-fiction writing, fantasy novels, cats, the colour purple...

  • cats
  • writing
  • education
  • womens rights
  • dining
  • cooking
  • vegetarian
  • gardening
  • reading
  • blogging
  • music
  • folk music
  • guitar
  • surfing
  • teaching

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The moon rising over the ocean on a clear night. Northern lights. Pea pods swelling on the plants from my own garden. Being invited to speak at a major conference.

Teach, Learn, Share

I've basically spent the last few years focusing on unschooling and freedom-based education. Writing, both online and in a couple of magazines, speaking at various conferences and events, and organizing support groups and events. Both from personal experience, having lived an unschooling lifestyle all of my life, and from meeting lots of people following a similar lifestyle, plus reading about it voraciously, unschooling (and to a slightly lesser degree freedom-based education in general) is something I know a lot about. So if you're interested in that, I'd love to discuss it with you!

As for learning? Well, if you're into any of the things listed in my interests, I'd love to learn more about any of them, as well as anything else you're passionate about!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Idzie’s full profile.

My Groups