Tristan Schmurr's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tristan’s full profile.


  • 171 references 123 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French
  • 45, Male
  • Member since 2005
  • Network computing, high (green) tea
  • Physics, and many vocational topics
  • From Saverne, Alsace, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


See more, share more, learn more


Originally from Alsace, France, I have been living in the small Grand Duchy of Luxembourg for 15 years. I am keen on challenges where every day is a new adventure. But since I've been there for quite a while, I am now thinking about moving to Asia.

I spend a lot of time on my computers, swimming or cycling. I cycle to work each day but decided to take the longest way to get there, which is also the most idyllic and away from car traffic; if I get wet or cold, it's not about the weather but because of my inadequate clothes. And I don't drive, and don't feel excited about doing so.

Despite I am most of the time vegetarian and don't drink alcohol, I can have some fun on very stupid things :D


Normality is me! I can spend 16 hours online, a month in the desert or even 8 hours making a 5 seconds sound pattern - and don't feel bad!

Some people think I am weird when I count up to 1023 with my 10 fingers, but that's funny (and normal!) :p

I dislike to find only laundries when dressing, those big World Companies that attempt to takeover the world, and even worse, ideas of software patents and felons. Also, I don't enjoy drunk people but bear with it as long as I don't have to deal with them.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have network, system (UNIX), security skills and experiences. Feel free to ask for help and I will do my best ;-)


Each CS experience has been unique and great so far!


tea, tea, tea, hiking, badminton, ATB, cycling, reading, computers, networking, swimming, photography, audio mixing, groovebox, camping, sleeping, Internet, nature, green plants, geeks, veggie food, traveling, outdoor.

  • photography
  • dining
  • vegetarian
  • drinking
  • clothing
  • reading
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • swimming
  • badminton
  • software

Music, Movies, and Books

Keen on all kind of music, especially chill-out, electronic and classical music.

I don't watch television but I have a huge collection of documentaries to choose from.

King, Brian Greene, The Code Book, Sixty Million Frenchmen Can't Be Wrong, Terry Pratchett, Douglas Adams, technical books, encyclopedias.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I Slept outside in the Australian outback, left for cycling with my sleeping bag for a few days and many other things we could discuss in real life.

Teach, Learn, Share

It's great to share knowledge and practical tips in any domain. It is also very interesting to see people from totally different backgrounds are share a part of their life.
I can teach you French or IT stuff, and I'd like to learn some practical photography tips and learn some Chinese.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Canada, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Germany, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Italy, Macao, Monaco, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Portugal, Saint Lucia, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Luxembourg

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    13 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Tristan’s full profile.

My Groups