Kori Roys's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kori’s full profile.


  • 40 references 28 Confirmed & Positive
  • No languages listed
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Software Engineer, Teacher, Tutor
  • B.S. Industrial Engineering from Bradley University, self...
  • From Chicago
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Find the humorous side of every situation.


Current status: Gave up my apartment, sold all the furniture, got rid of the car, bicycle, and sent the cat home to mom and dad. Now everything I own fits into a 22L backpack. It's fun!


5/23-5/26: Movement in Detroit
5/27-5/31: New York
6/1-6/3: Montreal
6/4-6/9: Brussels/XO Festival
6/10-6/17: France
6/18-6/25: Lisbon, Portugal
6/26-7/1: Prague
7/2-7/7: ???
7/8-... France

Nothing really gets under my skin. I tend to keep my opinions to myself. I like my alone time, but but I like to get out and dance the nights/early mornings away on the weekends. I find it nearly impossible to gain/lose weight. I stay active and in good physical shape. If you're messaging me because you want to stay with me, please start your message with "Dear Kori John," so that I know you actually took some time and read through this. A personally crafted message will likely get you better responses overall anyway, since this site is really about meeting people you wouldn't otherwise!

I lived with my sister and Zach Zuber. Gotta say they are pretty cool.

I am traveling at the moment and can't host, but please check out my friend Shane. He's a cool dude!

Or my friend Sari (she's pretty awesome too).


I guess I'm still searching for my reason, but if I had to sum up what I know so far, it's this: laugh a lot, spread joy, and be the very best version of yourself. Be content with what you have, but never be satisfied with who you are. Always try to make yourself better.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I do my best to be a thankful and humble guest and never abuse anyone's trust. I like hosting/staying with foreign travelers and hearing their crazy stories.

I've built up a pretty sweet fridge magnet collection from my guests bringing them to me (from wherever they are traveling). And a bunch of thank you cards that I hung on the fridge with the magnets. :)



May 2014:
James and Zak and Chili (NYC)


April 2014:
Maria and Michi (Hamburg, Germany)

March 2014:
♥ Caro ♥ (Lyon, France)
Ellen (New Zealand) and Veera (Finland)

February 2014:
Theres and Karin (Germany)

November 2013:
Oscar and his husband Eduardo and Oscar's brother Rodo (Mexico)

October 2013:

September 2013:
Elena and Arina
Sebastian and Jessica and Jacek. Going dancing with them was so fun.
Hannah and Ricky
Regina and Mary and Kira
Grzegorz Fila and Marius

August 2013:
Chris & Christina
Rick Reichert and girlfriend
Ildi and Jessica
Alina and Margo
Justyna, Cansu, and Rosa
Jon and Christina (Aussies!)

July 2012:
Dora, Orsi, and Orsi

August 2011:
Candace and Becca


I LOOOVe electronic music (house and techno mostly, and sometimes bigroom/festival trance), dark beer, smart conversation, honest and friendly and caring people, home cooked meals, small furry animals, and laying out in the sun reading a book.

While I lived there, I kept a pretty close eye on the DJ talent that comes through Chicago, and still kinda do, so any given weekend I pretty much know the best place to go if you are into that.

You can bribe me with a bowl of salsa (spicy!) and a bag of tortilla chips. Yes, I really am that easy.

  • animals
  • cats
  • books
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • beer
  • running
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • electronic music
  • backpacking
  • surfing

Music, Movies, and Books

How to Win Friends and Influence People - Dale Carnegie. Best book ever about how to be a better human being.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I jumped off a 100 foot bridge!

2013 was my festival year: BPM Festival Mexico, Ultra Miami, Spring Awakening Chicago, Movement Detroit, EDC Vegas, Wavefront Chicago, Veld Toronto, Northcoast Chicago, and Tomorrowland Belgium! 9 festivals, 4 countries, 1 year

In college I put 8,200 hours into World of Warcraft. I don't regret that decision. Nor was it the only game I played at the time. You can also talk to me about DotA. I've played well over 5,000 rounds of DotA 1 & 2. :)

I watched baby turtles hatch and run down to the water in Puerto Escondido, Mexico.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am an amateur glowstick spinner, so I can teach you some basic moves. I also teach computer programming on the side. And I have some pretty sweet dance moves.

Countries I’ve Visited

India, Mexico, South Africa

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • 5 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Kori’s full profile.

My Groups