Paul Olai-Olssen's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Paul’s full profile.


  • 87 references 58 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Norwegian; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 56, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • I do travel documentaries, books and presentations.
  • As a still photographer, a long time ago. Travelling is a...
  • From Kolbotn, near Oslo, Norway
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Travelling has been the main thing for me the last half of my life. I now have a small apartment as base and workplace, with a bed and a couch.

I am not too complicated to be around. Some might find me boring, other find me very funny - most of the time, I'm just myself, at least communicative, curious and honest. Non smoking, all eating, liberal and open minded. Much of an individualist.

You know ... just another guy ... checking out the road ahead.

Life is what you make of it. You can search for and develop your own way.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Before CS, I slept on lots of couches, rugs and grass, in sheds, in boats, under boats, in trees, under trees, in hammocks etc. I know the value of a safe, dry and warm nest.

In Oslo we receive tons of requests, which gives me the privilege to pick and choose between wannabe guests. I fancy the brave, smart, mature and experienced ones, and hope their personality will leave a small trace in mine.

I work pretty hard periodically, so don't expect a lot of high five nightclubbing, but I love my town and would give ideas and help in how to discover it. My place is about 20 minutes north of the centre, by bus. Rise from your couch, and you have a pretty good view of it all ...


My work and my interests are the same; I travel by bike, kayak, train, feet, and photograph, write, film.

Come to think about it, people are probably my most important interest. They are the main reason why I travel and why I create my media. I simply love experiencing and "experimenting" on humans - which includes myself, I guess. Provocations, feelings, manipulation, interaction, body language, discussions - we are an amazing species! :)

  • traveling
  • cycling
  • kayaking
  • communications

Music, Movies, and Books

I do not read much, and listen to a variety of music, but the good movies are important to me. I'll just mention "Once Upon a Time in America", "Masjävlar" and "True Romance" as three that had an impact.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Tidal currents sucked me and my kayak through a long, narrow tunnel, where no man ever was before, in the Faroe Islands. I survived getting lost in Tapon del Darien. I visited "el Tio". And some other stuff.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can give you a good start in Photoshop and some scary travel tales.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Kind of odd question, really. Did I not just answer that? Well, I'm open to requests. Quality conversation. A portrait maybe.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Algeria, Antarctica, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Latvia, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Palestine, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • 17 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Paul’s full profile.

My Groups