Lisa Huang's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 5 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lisa’s full profile.


  • 96 references 21 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, English; learning Spanish, Yue (Cantonese)
  • 36, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • I connect people through food :) Hosting awesome food exp...
  • Let's Go BLUE! Alumni of University of Michigan, USA!
  • From Tainan, Taiwan/Singapore!
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Meet amazing people from all corners of the world, and soak up as many stories & experience as possible!


Hi everyone!

I joined CS in 2010 when I moved to Cape Town, South Africa. I've just moved to Taipei in April 2015, and will love to connect with the local CS community! What you should know about me:

I am outgoing and friendly, and my infectious energy can be overwhelming for the new people I meet - because they are always surprised at how open and warm I am. I live life to the fullest, and I want to look back when I am 50+ and know that I had no (well, virtually none) regrets.

I looove traveling, it's a passion and a lifestyle I can't imagine not having. During my "free" times, you will find me checking out new neighborhoods in the city I live in, enjoying free concerts / cultural events / festivals, and just having a great time overall.

I look forward to exploring Taiwan and make some new friends And to meet other CSers when I get a chance to travel~


Own only what you can carry with you; know language, know countries, know people. Let your memory be your travel bag. - Alexander Solzhenitsyn

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have been very fortunate to meet the most kind, loving CSers here in Cape Town - even more incredible to have them as some of my best friends!!

I am a Cape Town CS moderator:, we constantly post up get togethers/braais/ sundowners at the beach, or just exploring activities around the city.


I have couchsurfed during my travels in Asia, South America, and South Africa. This includes staying over with friends' friends, or through new people I meet in the city during my travels.

I truly enjoy hearing people's life stories, because I grow so much through seeing from different perspectives~

Hosted Couchsurfers from:
* United States
* Romania
* Philippines
* South Africa
* Germany
* Canada
* Wales
* South Korea
* Ireland
* India
* Peru
* Zimbabwe

Surfed in:
* United States
* South Africa


Traveling, trying new food, going to cultural events, Independent films, going to Musical performances, Instrumental performances, meeting new people..... I have too many interests to fit in here!!

You should really get to know me in person ;)

  • concerts
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • education
  • dining
  • cooking
  • gardening
  • movies
  • traveling
  • backpacking
  • soccer
  • teaching
  • entrepreneurship
  • beaches

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I backpacked solo in South Africa, from Cape Town up the Garden route to Port Elizabeth. Making an impromptu in a seaside city called Knysna, I found Sista Keri - a Rasta women who transformed her home into an "alternative BnB". I spent 3 nights in her home in Judah Square, a Rasta community that's also a rural township. Playing football, dancing to Kwela with the locals and stargazing... it was an incredible experience, and humbling to learn from the community elders!

Teach, Learn, Share

I will love to share:
- Positive thinking and ways to think like an entrepreneur
- Unconventional approach to education: taking gap year & exploring interests you never thought you enjoyed
- How to make friends in 60 seconds
- Light packing & making EVERYTHING fit in your backpack!

I will loooove to learn:
- Cooking your hometown dishes, or something you picked up during travels
- How you make new friends within 60seconds!
- Transforming passion into action!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am a great conversationalist (trust me, I am a brilliant roadtrip companion) and can share stories from my time living in South Africa, will love to cook and share a meal with you! Oh, and to share the CS spirit!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Peru, Puerto Rico, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Costa Rica, Peru, Singapore, South Africa, Taiwan, United States

Old School Badges

  • 20 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Lisa’s full profile.

My Groups