Manny Vergel's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Manny’s full profile.


  • 168 references 117 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Tagalog; learning German, Spanish
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Software Developer
  • Graduated college at a university
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

[Fully Vaxxed 💉] I love conversations about Philosophy. Why are things the way they are, why people behave in such a way, and existential questions of life. I like thoughts that feed the soul. I enjoy sharing travel experiences, and meeting new travel buddies.

I don’t smoke but I’m 420 friendly. My "sports" are running, swimming, surfing, and sometimes I play football (soccer) for fun. I just got my advanced open water, so I’ve been trying a few spots here and there. I'm a software developer, making websites and iOS apps. I'm always open to opportunities and would love a tech talk as well with someone in the same field.

I "dance" to EDM, hip hop, pop, reggaeton, and all the mainstream spanish / latin music. Good times! I love coffee and cake especially in the afternoon! I enjoy good food, and I don’t mind spending for shops I haven’t tried before.

Just to make it clear to avoid confusion. I'm straight, and I’m NOT a nudist so stop asking me to be nude, and stop making requests if you're from the same city; this is not a dating site nor is couchsurfing just for free accommodation and parking to attend your conferences.. Impersonal requests will be declined without a reason, don't take it personally. I’m not a smoker, but I don’t mind people smoking as long as they don’t kiss me after, I’ll be fine (hahaha)

TRAVEL PLANS (don’t request on these dates)

[Sept 13 - Oct 24, 2021] SF & OC, US 🇺🇸

[Jan 21 - 29, 2020] Bali! 🧘🏽‍♂️

[Nov 25 - Dec 5] Vietnam for Ha Giang Loop 🏍

[Nov 5 - Nov 25] Thailand for the Chiang Mai Lantern Festival 🎇

[Aug - Oct] Cebu, Bohol, Siquijor, Siargao, Vigan, Pagudpud, La Union 🇵🇭

[July 11 - 30] San Francisco 🌉

[June 27 - July 11] New York 🏙 Boston 🦞 DC 🏛

[May 8 - June++] Da Nang 🍜

[April 10 - May 8, 2019] Chiang Mai. Time to get back to my favorite spot on earth! And of course, Song Kran (Water Festival) 💦

[Nov 20 - Dec 10, 2018] 3 weeks immersion in Hanoi to know more about culture, people, and business. [Update] I learned so much and even though I didn't go to any of the touristy places near Hanoi, I absolutely loved my stay there just talking to people everyday and knowing more about their life. One of my highlights was when I stayed in a homestay to teach English, met so many kind-hearted individuals who become true friends.

[Sept 28 - Oct 18, 2018] ✈️ Booked for San Francisco! No definite plans yet. UPDATE: SF surpassed my expectations! I really had a great time, and I also got to visit Tahoe, Yosemite, Las Vegas, LA, Orange County, but SF really took my heart ♥️

[Aug 18 - 22, 2018] I’ll be in Cebu and Malapascua to dive! 🦈 UPDATE! Got my advanced open water, yey! And I saw thresher sharks!!

[June 11 - 18, 2018] 🇹🇼 Taiwan for the 5th time! Visiting Puli / Nantou County, and Taitung if I have time. [May 11, 2018] Got my US Visa!! 10 yr multiple entries. I’m so ecstatic! I wanna visit San Francisco, by end of Sept / early Oct this year!

[Apr 26 - May 2 2018] - Taiwan for the 4th time, coz it’s like my third home (after vietnam), haha!

[Jan 17 - 22, 2018] - solo travel to Cebu! Moalboal sardine run, canyoneering, kawasan, and SINULOG! Amazing people!

[Nov 11-15, 2017] Solo travel to Port Barton, Palawan! - I say, this is the best beach I’ve been to in Asia in terms of budget, locals, there are more travellers than tourists, and overall atmosphere. I hope it stays this way but for sure people will discover this gem eventually and trash it.

[Jul 7 - Sept 15 2017] Europe, July 7 - Sept 15! Main reason I went: Before Sunrise (haha). I went to Paris, Toulouse, Carcassonne, Barcelona, Naples, Rome, Florence, Venice, Budapest, Vienna, Prague, Wrothclaw, Krakow, Berlin, Goerlitz, Dresden, Munich, Ottersweir, Karlsruhe, Bremen, Wildeshausen, Cologne, Bonn, Frankfurt, Bruges, and Amsterdam! Whew! Will come back for a more laid back travel maybe to Spain and Portugal!!

2016: Thailand, Laos, Vietnam, Cambodia. My favorites are Chiang Mai, Hoi An, and Luang Prabang! Amazing places! Australia: Sydney and Melbourne! Almost everyone I talked to said they liked Melbourne more, but not me, I really liked Sydney. Maybe I’m a city person :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm open minded and like to meet new people and maybe have new friends from different countries.

I have hosted a few people from all over the world and they were great! I can stay up all night just talking about travel, culture, and people.


I enjoy good conversations over coffee, wine or beer. I love to talk about travel experiences, life and social experiments (haha). I also like partying and dancing, but I’ve dialled it down a bit.

  • music festivals
  • movies
  • music
  • electronic music
  • hip-hop music
  • piano
  • solo travel
  • reggaeton

Music, Movies, and Books

Shawshank Redemption, 500 days of summer, Intouchibles, Amelie, Eternal sunshine.., Before Sunrise, Before Sunset, Hello Stranger, Sassy Girl, 50 first dates, 42, The Hammer, Fight Club, Big Fish, LALALAND, The Grand Budapest Hotel, Into the Wild, Kolya (czech film), Breakfast at Tiffany's, Somewhere in Time. I love to watch old classics even b&w like casa blanca.

HIMYM, F.R.I.E.N.D.S., Modern Family, Game of Thrones, Walking Dead, BREAKING BAD, Sherlock (BBC), Elementary.

Of Monsters and Men, Arctic Monkeys, The xx, The Chainsmokers, Any EDM, Maroon 5, Keane, Westside TQ, Switchfoot, Heart of the Matter, Changes (2Pac), Imogen Heap, The Script, Wonderwall, Coldplay, 90s, Incubus, a bit of Linkin Park :) Ialso enjoy classical and piano collections

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Joined Couchsurfing, seriously! Beats all other adventures. I think it’s the best invention of the 21st century!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I enjoy cooking, mostly pasta dishes. I can also help with computer stuff too if needed. But what I enjoy the most is just getting to know people and how different we are from one another yet amazingly so alike. I could also teach you a little Tagalog (my language).

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, China, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Laos, Myanmar, Netherlands, Philippines, Poland, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Philippines, Viet Nam

Join Couchsurfing to see Manny’s full profile.

My Groups