Martin Panek's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Martin’s full profile.

Overview

  • 38 references 28 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Czech, English, German, Slovak; learning Chinese, French, Spanish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Staffer in the European Parliament, Liberty Advocate
  • University of Economics, Prague
  • From Sokolov, Karlovy Vary Region, Czechia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Earn my first million! :)

ABOUT ME

I'm just your average Czech boy, I think. A big fan of Manchester United, Pittsburgh Penguins and Lance Armstrong. Also a libertarian Euroskeptic and an Austrian-school economist. Of course I am friendly, open-minded, laid back and reliable as every other couchsurfer. :)

PHILOSOPHY

I hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.

Interests

Economics, politics, languages ...and a lot of other uncool nerdy stuff :). But then there's sports like cycling, running, triathlons, football (for American fans: soccer) or ice hockey (the best sport there is!)

  • books
  • running
  • politics
  • cycling
  • sports
  • soccer
  • hockey
  • economics
  • teaching
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Forrest Gump, Saving Private Ryan, Mean Girls...
TV: Breaking Bad, Game of Thrones, Narcos, Gilmore Girls, Yes Minister...
Books: Lord of the Rings, Catcher in the Rye, Nineteen Eighty-Four, It's not about the bike: My journey back to life, Not Without My Daughter, The Signal and The Noise, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- I published a book called "A Complete Chicken" (about my travels in China) ;)
- I finished three marathons, one of them in China :)
- I got fined by the police on my very first day in the USA! :D
- I met the Prince of Liechtenstein

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to learn languages and I love to learn about different customs and cultures... I also like to teach languages or economics (unfortunately, don't have much time for that now)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, China, Croatia, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Germany, Hong Kong, Israel, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macao, Morocco, Netherlands, Portugal, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, China, Czech Republic, Germany, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Martin’s full profile.

My Groups