Alison Moore's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 5 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alison’s full profile.

Overview

  • 38 references 22 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Galician, Spanish
  • 38, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • No occupation listed
  • I'm still at it
  • From London, UK
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

cater for curiosity, caper with creativity

ABOUT ME

I like listening to stories, being vegetarian, cycling and enjoying sunshine and being outside, dancing and being danced with, having a chat over a cup of tea, trying to live close to what the earth has to offer.

I also really like it when someone, something or someplace challenges my perception of the world and I shake my head to take it in and think "Wow" - one of the reasons why I like travelling as I do.

I hope you'll find me chatty, cat-like curious, keen to share fantastic ideas, tips and jokes.

PHILOSOPHY

Ultimately, I reckon it is our responsibility to one another and the planet that is the thing that defines us as individuals

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

By interacting, spreading the word, sharing experiences.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I first surfed in Paris a couple of years ago with a brilliant CSer Adrian, who was very welcoming and generous and we spent an unforgettable night at the side of the Seine with his friendly friends. Since then I have done a bit more surfing and some hosting too in in Spain, which I loved. Both hosting and surfing have opened my eyes in many ways and have led to friendships and connections and adventures that I'm really glad I've had. Though I am not able to host at the moment, hopefully that will change in the future.

Interests

Moving/standing up: roller-blading, badminton, hiking, exploring, cycling

Sitting down: reading a story, watching movies, drinking tea

Lying down: sleeping, thinking

Other: animals (friendly and wild), the great outdoors, sustainability, people

  • animals
  • cats
  • insects
  • dancing
  • vegetarian
  • drinking
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • eating out
  • crochet
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • badminton

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I like things that make me want to tap my feet, close my eyes and wiggle my head... Gypsy/folk, bluegrass, classical, funk, punk, rock and roll, the list goes on...Films: Clerks, The Neverending Story, Garden State, Spirited Away, Pan's LabyrinthBooks: Shantaram, Watership Down, His Dark Materials Trilogy

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The Cañon de Sil, in Ourense, Spain - in reality it is a canyon which is hidden amoungst tangly-spaghettiing roads - but it was very much worth the visit - trotting through tiny villages, getting confused by contradictory directions from locals, and finally following a handmade sign through some allotments, to find the land suddenly swoop down almost from under our feet into the canyon - it was a surreal experience standing up there - looking down the river below looks like a shoelace and the boats look like insects crawling along it.

Teach, Learn, Share

I always want to learn more about different ways to create a simple, sustainable living.

And I know how to make a simple homemade solar oven, or to crochet a wooly hat or how to weave a basket...if you can find a use for these things in your life...get in contact!

Countries I’ve Visited

Belize, Cambodia, Croatia, France, Germany, Guatemala, Honduras, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Malaysia, Portugal, Singapore, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Spain, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • 8 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Alison’s full profile.

My Groups