Joel Saravia's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 7 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joel’s full profile.


  • 23 references 21 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Japanese, Spanish
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Desk Drone
  • Bachelor of Arts English and Political Science
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Eat a taco. (Update: Mission Accomplished)


I love the outdoors, but can never see myself away from the city for too long. The energy, the lights, the anonymity. Riding my road bike through the Japanese countryside is breathtaking, but give me a posh whisky bar with a view of the Tokyo skyline and a Padron 1926 and I'm set. As for my personality, you'll soon learn I don't take myself very seriously as I've got a very self-deprecating sense of humor. I don't like being the center of attention, but I'd like to believe I've come a long way from my awkwardly shy high school days.


There is no such thing as fate. You are always in control.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Surf, host, drug dealer.....uh....keeper-awayer.....


Been hosting for just over a year now with only minor complaints thus far.


I love a wide variety of music, good coffee, okonomiyaki, Adidas Originals, working out, cigars, single-malt whiskey, and stimulating conversation.

  • fish
  • coffee
  • working out
  • partying
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • fishing

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Johnny Cash, Camo and Krooked, DJ Fresh, The Streets, Fort Minor, Rise Against, Radiohead, Descendents, Z-Trip, Ludovico Einaudi, Miles Davis, Netsky, Calle 13
Movies: Snatch, 28 Days Later,
Books: The Lexus and the Olive Tree, Enemies, Monsoon

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I made love to a unicorn once. When I woke up the next morning, it was just a regular horse wearing a party hat.

Teach, Learn, Share

I once met a man with no shoes so I taught him how to fish.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Canada, China, El Salvador, Finland, Guatemala, Japan, Mexico, Puerto Rico, South Korea, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Japan, United States

Old School Badges

  • 2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Joel’s full profile.