Stijn Vermeeren's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Stijn’s full profile.


  • 95 references 69 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French, German; learning Czech, Italian, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Data Scientist at Starmind
  • Mathematics (PhD)
  • From Aarschot, Flanders, Belgium
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


* I can host at most 2 people in my flat.

* The best time to write me a couch request is about 1-2 weeks before your arrival. If you write earlier, then I'll have to decline because I can't commit that far in advance.

* I've been receiving a lot of requests lately, of which I have to decline about 95%, so don't take it personal if I have to decline yours...


I'm a Belgian living in Zürich since 2013. I work as a software engineer and data scientist. During the weekends, I'm often out hiking or mountaineering in the Alps.

It's always difficult to describe oneself, so I'll just take some quotes from my references: "very down to earth", "easy to talk to", "super helpful", "humble", "easy-going", "knows a lot about the city and country he lives in", "best for quiet but adventurous couchsurfers".

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've surfed in the UK, the Azores, Belgium, India, the USA, France, Spain, Hungary, Italy, Laos and Ireland. Each host was a new experience. I've met some very different characters, but I've always been pleasantly surprised by the unconditional trust and hospitality of my hosts.

I've hosted at my parent's place in Belgium, at my student home in Leeds and since 2013 in my own flat in Zürich. I've hosted people from the USA, Italy, Taiwan, Germany, Mexico, France, England, Denmark, China, Slovenia, Finland, Ireland, Czech Republic, Ukraine, Slovakia, Argentina, Spain, Brasil, South Korea, Australia, Ecuador, Canada, Belgium, Austria, the Netherlands, Poland and Egypt.

I've also met up with other CouchSurfers for drinks, language exchange, hiking and various other activities.


* Hiking, mountaineering, via ferrata
* Data science, machine learning and mathematics
* The board game of go (igo / weiqi / baduk)
* Foreign languages
* Music, playing the harmonica

  • beer
  • hiking
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • software
  • language exchange
  • mountains
  • data science

Music, Movies, and Books

I enjoy discovering new music and new genres. I might be mostly focussed on rock, especially post rock, but that doesn't stop me from enjoying some classical or world music as well. I should go to concerts more often than I actually do.

Some authors I like: Lewis Carroll, Jack London, Emily Dickinson, Mark Twain, Willem Elsschot... I think I would enjoy the Russian classics, but I first want to learn Russian so I can read them in the original language....

Movies: check out my profile on iCheckMovies:

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Watching killer whales below us in the sea from the top of a cliff in Iceland.

Climbing many mountains in the Alps - my highest summit so far is the Nadelhorn at 4327m.

Teach, Learn, Share

I always enjoy practising my languages with a native speaker.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Laos, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Myanmar, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Germany, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Stijn’s full profile.

My Groups